UW's Brandon Roy Named to Midseason Wooden All-America Team

Jan. 28, 2006

LOS ANGELES - University of Washington senior Brandon Roy was named to the 30-player Midseason All-America Team announced Saturday by the John R. Wooden Award Committee.

Composed of the top 30 players who are expected to compete for this year's player of the year award, the Midseason list is based on individual player performance and team records through the first half of the season.

Roy is the second Husky to appear on the Wooden midseason list in as many years. Last year, UW guard Nate Robinson was a Wooden Award candidate.

A 6-foot-6 guard, Roy Brandon currently leads the Huskies with an 18.5-point scoring average. He increased that figure in conference games, leading all Pac-10 players with 22.5 points per game.

Roy is an extremely well-rounded player who ranks among the Pac-10 leaders in numerous categories, including: assist/turnover ratio (1st-1.81), points (4th-18.5), 3-point percentage (5th-43.8%), assists (6th-4.1), steals (8th-1.4), field goal percent (8th-50.4%), blocked shots (9th-1.0) and rebounds (12th-5.3).

The Midseason list includes 2004-2005 Wooden Award All-Americans J.J. Redick (Duke) and Dee Brown (Illinois), as well as a number of outstanding players that were in the running for last year's Wooden Award. Redick ranks third in the nation in scoring (27.3 ppg) while leading Duke to a 17-1 record, and Brown, despite starting slowly while recovering from an off-season injury, leads the Illini in scoring (15.3 ppg) and assists (5.7 apg). Shelden Williams (Duke) and Craig Smith (Boston College) join Redick and Brown as the only Midseason candidates named to last year's official voting ballot. Both the nation's leading scorer, Adam Morrison (28.3 ppg), and leading rebounder, Paul Millsap (12.8 rpg), were selected to the Midseason list.

Other Midseason candidates that were in the running for last year's Wooden Award include Justin Gray (Wake Forest), Carl Krauser (Pittsburgh), Gerry McNamara (Syracuse) and P.J. Tucker (Texas).

Further, seven newcomers, an unusually large number, have been selected to the Midseason list who were not selected to the Preseason list. This group includes LaMarcus Aldridge (Texas), Randy Foye (Villanova), Mike Gansey (West Virginia), Thomas Gardner (Missouri), Taurean Green (Florida), Marco Killingsworth (Indiana) and Allan Ray (Villanova).

In total, 18 seniors, six juniors and six sophomores were selected to the Midseason list. Though no freshmen were selected, they were eligible for the Midseason list and will be considered for the National Ballot.

'The Midseason Selection Committee had an incredibly difficult task this season in narrowing the list to 30 players because there have been so many outstanding individual performers thus far,' said Duke Llewellyn, Wooden Award chairman. 'In addition to a number of top preseason candidates who have excelled, the Midseason list includes several talented newcomers who have elevated their teams. We look forward to watching this group of amazing athletes as we determine the top candidates for the Wooden Award All-American Team.'

Nine NCAA conferences are represented on the list, including the ACC, Big Ten, Big 12, Big East, Conference USA, Pac-10, SEC, Western Athletic Conference and the West Coast Conference. The best represented conferences include the Big East with nine candidates and the Big Ten and ACC conferences, with five and four candidates, respectively.

Roy is one of three Pac-10 players remaining on the Wooden Award list, including Arizona's Hassan Adams and UCLA's Jordan Farmar. Four other Pac-10 players were on the preseason list, but did not make the midseason cut. They are California's Leon Powe and Oregon's Aaron Brooks along with Dan Grunfeld and Chris Hernandez of Stanford.

Several teams have two players nominated, including Michigan State (Ager and Davis), Texas (Aldridge and Tucker), Villanova (Foye and Ray), West Virginia (Gansey and Pittsnogle) and Duke (Redick and Williams).

The 10th-ranked Huskies complete their Bay Area road trip Sunday, Jan. 29. They play at Stanford in a 5 p.m. game that will be nationally televised on FSN.

About the John R. Wooden Award
Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation's best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a cumulative 2.0 GPA. Previous winners include such notables as Michael Jordan ('84), Larry Bird ('79), Tim Duncan ('97) and last year's recipient, Andrew Bogut ('05).

As a part of the John R. Wooden Award, the top five male and female finalists will receive a contribution from the John R. Wooden Award Scholarship Fund for their university's general scholarship fund. The Wooden Award Scholarship Fund was established in 2002 by Applied Materials and corporate partners through the California Community Foundation (CCF) to honor Coach Wooden's dedication as an educator and mentor. Applied Materials distributed $10,000 last year to each university represented by a men's and women's Wooden Award All-American Team finalist (for a total of $100,000). Additional donations to Applied Materials' John R. Wooden Award Scholarship Fund can be made by contacting the scholarship fund through the CCF (www.calfund.org).

For more information on the John R. Wooden Award, please see the offcial website at: www.WoodenAward.com

First Last Hgt. Year Pos. School
Hassan Adams 6-4 Sr. G Arizona
Maurice Ager 6-5 Sr. G Michigan State
LaMarcua Aldridge 6-10 So. F Texas
Dee Brown 5-11 Sr. G Illinios
Rodney Carney 6-7 Sr. F Memphis
Paul Davis 6-11 Sr. C Michigan State
Taquan Dean 6-3 Sr. G Louisville
Jordan Farmar 6-2 So. G UCLA
Nick Fazekas 6-11 Jr. F Nevada
Randy Foye 6-4 Sr. G Villanova
Mike Gansey 6-4 Sr. F West Virginia
Thomas Gardner 6-5 Jr. G Missouri
Rudy Gay 6-9 So. F Connecticut
Justin Gray 6-2 Sr. G Wake Forest
Taureen Green 6-0 So. G Florida
Marco Killingsworth 6-8 Sr. F Indiana
Carl Krauser 6-2 Jr. G Pittsburgh
Paul Millsap 6-8 Jr. F Louisiana Tech
Gerry McNamara 6-2 Sr. G Syracuse
Adam Morrison 6-8 Jr. F Gonzaga
Steve Novak 6-10 Sr. F Marquette
Kevin Pittsnogle 6-11 Sr. C West Virginia
Allan Ray 6-2 Sr. G Villanova
J.J. Reddick 6-4 Sr. G Duke
Rajon Rondo 6-1 So. G Kentucky
BRANDON ROY 6-6 Sr. G Washington
Craig Smith 6-7 Sr. F Boston College
Alando Tucker 6-5 So. F Wisconsin
P.J. Tucker 6-5 Jr. F Texas
Shelden Williams 6-9 Sr. F Duke
Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder