Thorson Named to 2006 USA Softball Player of the Year Pre-Season Watch List

Feb. 1, 2006

Senior pitcher Kristina Thorson has been named to the 2006 USA Softball Player of the Year Pre-Season Watch List, the Amateur Softball Association announced today. The award, which is considered one of the most prestigious honors in women's collegiate softball, recognizes outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country.

Thorson is a two-time All-American. She finished the 2005 season with a 23-5 record, sporting an ERA of 1.09, which ranked second in the Pac-10. The senior from Lake Forest Park Wash., is fifth in strikeouts (610) on Cal's all-time career list

The 2006 Pre-Season Watch List is comprised of 50 players, representing 28 schools and 10 conferences. USA Softball will announce its 25 finalists on April 5. A player does not have to appear on the initial watch list to be considered as a Top-25 finalist, but once the Top-25 is named, the remaining finalist must be selected from that list.

Name			School		PositionMonica Abbott		Tennessee 	PitcherCaitlin Benyi		UCLA 		Second BaseTina Boutelle		Texas		OutfieldCourtney Bures		Mississippi St.	InfieldKatie Burkhart		Arizona St.	PitcherKasi Carroll		Georgia		Pitcher/OutfieldLauren Castle		LSU		OutfieldAutumn Champion		Arizona		OutfieldChristina Clark		Fresno St.	InfieldGarland Cooper		Northwestern	First BaseHolly Currie		Auburn		Pitcher/First BaseJennifer Curtier	Pacific		First BaseMegan Denny		Texas		PitcherNorrelle Dickson	Oklahoma	Third Base/SSAndrea Duran		UCLA		Third BaseKristi Durant		Tennessee	3rd/CatcherSarah Fekete		Tennessee	OutfieldSamantha Findlay	Michigan	First BaseCourtnay Foster		Northwestern	PitcherKristie Fox		Arizona		ShortstopMegan Gibson		Texas A&M	Pitcher/First BaseDanyele Gomez		Louisiana- Laf.	OutfieldTiffany Haas 		Michigan	Second BaseAlicia Hollowell	Arizona 	PitcherVanessa Iapala		Oregon St.	First Base /CatcherAmber Jackson		Bethune-Cookman	ShortstopChelsi Lake		Baylor		InfieldLauren Lappin		Stanford	Shortstop/CatcherSara Larquier		Virginia 	Third BaseDominique Lastrapes	Washington	Second BaseDanielle Lawrie		Washington	PitcherJodie Legaspi		UCLA		ShortstopCaitlin Lowe		Arizona		ShortstopBrianne McGowan		Oregon St.	Pitcher/First BaseMicaela Minner		Missouri	OutfieldCatalina Morris		Stanford	OutfieldMarissa Nichols 	UNLV		OutfieldCat Osterman 		Texas		PitcherJackie Rinehart 	Stanford 	OutfieldJennie Ritter 		Michigan 	PitcherAmanda Scarborough 	Texas A&M 	PitcherLindsay Schutzler 	Tennessee 	InfieldHarmony Schwethelm 	Baylor		Infield/OutfieldChristine Sheridan 	Georgia Tech 	ShortstopAnjelica Selden 	UCLA 		PitcherKristina Thorson 	California 	PitcherAngela Tincher 		Virginia Tech 	PitcherStephanie VanBrakle 	Alabama 	PitcherKristin Vesley 		Oklahoma 	CenterfieldEmily Zaplatosch 	UCLA 		First Base /Catcher
Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder