ASA Announces Watch List For USA Softball Collegiate Player Of The Year

Feb. 2, 2006

Oklahoma City, Okla. - The Amateur Softball Association, the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States, announced today its initial watch list for the 5th annual USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year Award. This award, which is considered one of the most prestigious honors in women's collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country. Past winners of this award include UCLA's Stacey Nuveman, Florida State's Jessica Van der Linden and two-time winner Texas pitcher Cat Osterman.

The 2006 Pre-Season Watch List is comprised of 50 players representing 28 schools and 10 different NCAA Division I Conferences. USA Softball will announce its 25 finalists on April 5. A player does not have to appear on the initial watch list to be considered as a Top 25 finalist, but once the Top 25 is named the remaining finalist must be selected from that list.

Just days before the start of post-season play, a list of 10 finalists will be named and released on May 10. The three finalists will be announced May 31. The winner of the 2006 USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced during the NCAA Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City.

A replica of the award will be placed in a permanent display in the ASA National Softball Hall of Fame in Oklahoma City, along with photos of the winner. An additional replica of the award will be presented to the player's academic institution.

Osterman was selected as the 2005 winner after leading her Texas Longhorns to the Big 12 Tournament title and a berth into the Women's College World Series. This marked the second time the southpaw from Houston, Texas was named as a recipient of the award and will be back for her senior season at Texas in 2006.

This year's watch list contains six players who were among the Top 10 finalists for the 2005 Award including Michigan's Jennie Ritter, Arizona's Caitlin Lowe and Osterman who were the final three finalists in Oklahoma City.

The Amateur Softball Association, founded in 1933, is the National Governing Body of amateur softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. As the National Governing Body, the ASA is responsible for identifying, selecting and training male and female athletes to compete in World, Pan American and Olympic competitions.

2006 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Watch List:
(listed in alphabetical order)

Monica Abbott - Tennessee (Salinas, CA) Tennessee - JuniorCaitlin Benyi - UCLA (Scottsdale, AZ) UCLA - SeniorTina Boutelle - Texas (Katy, TX) - SeniorCourtney Bures - Mississippi State (Haymarket, VA) - SophomoreKatie Burkhart - Arizona State (San Luis Obispo, CA) - SophomoreKasi Carroll - Georgia (Norris City, IL) - JuniorLauren Castle - LSU (Lafayette, LA) - SeniorAutumn Champion - Arizona (Tustin, CA) - SeniorChristina Clark - Fresno State (Santa Ana, CA) - SeniorGarland Cooper - Northwestern (Mission Viejo, CA) - JuniorJennifer Curtier - Pacific (Lancaster, CA) - SeniorHolly Currie - Auburn (Pisgah, AL) - JuniorMegan Denny - Texas (Crowley, TX) - SophomoreNorrelle Dickson - Oklahoma (Orange, CA) - JuniorAndrea Duran - UCLA (Selma, CA ) - SeniorKristi Durant - Tennessee (Placentia, CA) SeniorSarah Fekete - Tennessee (Maryville, TN) - SeniorSamantha Findlay - Michigan (Lockport, IL) - SophomoreCourtnay Foster - Northwestern (Tucson, AZ) - SeniorKristie Fox - Arizona (San Diego, CA) - JuniorMegan Gibson - Texas A&M (Spring, TX) - SophomoreDanyele Gomez - Louisiana Lafayette (Metairie, LA) - SeniorTiffany Haas - Michigan (North Tustin, CA) - SeniorAlicia Hollowell - Arizona (Suisun, CA) - SeniorVanessa Iapala - Oregon State (San Diego, CA) SeniorAmber Jackson - Bethune-Cookman (Fontana, CA) - SeniorChelsi Lake - Baylor (Keller, TX) - JuniorLauren Lappin - Stanford (Anaheim, CA) - SeniorSara Larquier - Virginia (Burbank, CA) - SeniorDominique Lastrapes - Washington (Mission Viejo, CA) - JuniorDanielle Lawrie - Washington (Langley, British Columbia) - FreshmanJodie Legaspi - UCLA (Garden Grove, CA) - JuniorCaitlin Lowe - Arizona (Tustin, CA) - JuniorBrianne McGowan - Oregon State (Reno, NV) - JuniorMicaela Minner - Missouri (Sanger, TX) - SophomoreCatalina Morris - Stanford (Sonoita, AZ) - SeniorMarissa Nichols - UNLV (Diamond Bar, CA) - SophomoreCat Osterman - Texas (Houston, TX) - SeniorJackie Rinehart - Stanford (Reno, NV) - JuniorJennie Ritter - Michigan (Dexter, MI) - SeniorAmanda Scarborough - Texas A&M (Magnolia, TX) - SophomoreLindsay Schutzler - Tennessee (Monterey, CA) - JuniorHarmony Schwethelm - Baylor (San Antonio, TX) - SeniorChristine Sheridan - Georgia Tech (Pasadena, MD) - SeniorAnjelica Selden - UCLA (Vacaville, CA) - SophomoreKristina Thorson - California (Lake Forest Park, WA) - SeniorAngela Tincher - Virginia Tech (Eagle Rock, VA) - SophomoreStephanie VanBrakle - Alabama (Chambersburg, PA) - SeniorKristin Vesley - Oklahoma (Phoenix, AZ) - SeniorEmily Zaplatosch - UCLA (Scottsdale, AZ) - Senior

Courtesy of USA Softball

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder