Lastrapes and Lawrie Named to Collegiate Player of the Year Watch List

Feb. 2, 2006

SEATTLE--Washington junior Dominique Lastrapes and freshman Danielle Lawrie are among 50 Division I players named to the USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year watch list. Lastrapes is named to the list for the second consecutive year, while Lawrie is the only freshman on the list.

Lastrapes, a 2004 All-American, has been a two-year starter for the Huskies at second base. Last season, Lastrapes was named to the All-Pacific Region second team and Pac-10 All-Conference honorable mention team after hitting .339 with 42 runs scored and 21 RBIs. She led the Huskies in the postseason, hitting .667 at the regional tournament in Lincoln, Neb., earning All-Tournament honors for the second consecutive year. Lastrapes was the Regional MVP her freshman year after tying the NCAA record for consecutive hits when she opened the tournament with 10 straight hits.

Lawrie, a pitcher, is the only freshman on the watch list. She opened eyes last summer as a member of the Canadian National Team when she defeated Team USA in the World Cup. Lawrie tossed a seven strikeout complete game en route to victory. She has been involved with the Canadian National Team for four year.

The award, given out by the Amateur Softball Association, is considered one of the most prestigious honors in women's collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country. Past winners of this award include UCLA's Stacey Nuveman, Florida State's Jessica Van der Linden and two-time winner Texas pitcher Cat Osterman.

The 2006 Pre-Season Watch List is comprised of 50 players representing 28 schools and 10 different NCAA Division I Conferences. USA Softball will announce its 25 finalists on April 5. A player does not have to appear on the initial watch list to be considered as a Top 25 finalist, but once the Top 25 is named the remaining finalist must be selected from that list.

Just days before the start of post-season play, a list of 10 finalists will be named and released on May 10. The three finalists will be announced May 31. The winner of the 2006 USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced during the NCAA Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City.

A replica of the award will be placed in a permanent display in the ASA National Softball Hall of Fame in Oklahoma City, along with photos of the winner. An additional replica of the award will be presented to the player's academic institution.

Osterman was selected as the 2005 winner after leading her Texas Longhorns to the Big 12 Tournament title and a berth into the Women's College World Series. This marked the second time the southpaw from Houston, Texas was named as a recipient of the award and will be back for her senior season at Texas in 2006.

This year's watch list contains six players who were among the Top 10 finalists for the 2005 Award including Michigan's Jennie Ritter, Arizona's Caitlin Lowe and Osterman who were the final three finalists in Oklahoma City.

The Pacific-10 Conference is well represented on the list with 18 players, representing seven of the league's eight teams. UCLA landed five players on the list, while Arizona and Stanford each had three. Oregon State and Washington had two players on the list and California and Arizona State each had one.

The Amateur Softball Association, founded in 1933, is the National Governing Body of amateur softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. As the National Governing Body, the ASA is responsible for identifying, selecting and training male and female athletes to compete in World, Pan American and Olympic competitions.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder