No. 5 Stanford Challenges No. 1 California In Pac-10 Meet

Feb. 16, 2006

#5 Stanford (4-1 overall, 3-1 Pac-10) vs #1 California (6-0 overall, 3-0 Pac-10)
Saturday, February 18, 2006, 1:00 p.m., Avery Aquatic Center

Stanford, Ca - It is one of the most intense athletic events between Stanford and Calfornia. The sport is men's swimming and diving, and another renewal of this storied event takes place on Saturday (Feburary 18) at 1:00 p.m. at the Avery Aquatic Center.

Both teams are nationally-ranked (California is #1, Stanford is #5), and will make an impact at both the upcoming Pac-10 and NCAA Championships. Last year, Stanford and California finished 1-2 at the Pac-10 Championship, and later in the season, the Cardinal placed second and the Golden Bears fourth at the NCAA Championship.

The Stanford-California meet will be the final home athletic event for Cardinal seniors Michael McLean, Tobias Oriwol and Mark Stephens.

Order of Events
400 medley relay
1000 freestyle
200 freestyle
50 freestyle
200 IM
one-meter diving
200 fly
100 free
200 back
500 free
three-meter diving
200 breast
400 free relay

Stanford Story
Already this year, several Cardinal swimmers have gained the NCAA 'A' and 'B' Standards ... Andy Grant, the school record holder in the 200 free, has an NCAA 'A' standard time of 1:35.24 ... Last year, Grant set the school record of 1:33.97 in finishing third and gaining All-America honors at the NCAA Championship, an event in which Stanford finished second ... Grant also has an NCAA 'A' standard time of 4:18.43 in the 500 free with a time of 4:18.43 ... Last year, Grant chalked up a career-best 4:17.28 in the 500 free at the Pac-10 Championship which is sixth-best in school history ... In the 100 back, Hongzhe Sun has an NCAA 'A' standard of 47.25 ... Last year in the prelims at the NCAA's, Sun set a career-best of 46.55 which also is seventh-best in school history ... Sun also an NCAA 'A' standard in the 200 back with a time of 1:42.82 ... Last year at the Pac-10 Championship, Sun chalked up a career-best 1:41.25 ... Sun is also off to a fast start in the 200 IM where he has an NCAA 'A' standard with a time of 1:46.08 ... Other Stanford athletes with the NCAA 'A' standards are Tobias Oriwol in the 200 IM (1:46.48) and Stanford freshman diver Dwight Dumais who tallied 336.90 points in one-meter diving, and 360.82 points in three-meter diving ... NCAA 'B' standard times have been turned in this year by Ben Wildman-Tobriner in the 50 free (20.09) and 100 free (43.96), Jason Dunford in the 100 free (44.04) and the 100 fly (48.52), Tobias Oriwol in the 200 free (1:37.20) and the 200 fly (1:46.33), Danny Beal in the 200 free (1:37.23) and 500 free (4:23.56), Michael McLean in the 500 free (4:23.15), Shaun Phillips in the 500 free (4:20.31) and 1650 free (15:08.46), Hongzhe Sun in the 200 fly (1:46.52), Mark Stephens in the 200 fly (1:45.03), the 200 IM (1:49.52) and the 400 IM (3:54.47), Andy Grant in the 200 back (1:45.38), Paul Kornfeld in the 200 breast (1:57.41), Chris Ash in the 200 breast (1:59.49) and Tobias Oriwol in the 400 IM (3:48.71) ... The Stanford relay teams in the 200 free relay (1:20.68), the 400 free relay (2:55.89), the 800 free relay (6:30.16) and the 400 medley relay (3:13.71) all have the NCAA 'B' standard.

Thus far during the 2005-06 season ...
* For the third year in a row, Stanford is the champion of the Speedo Cup (Nov. 17-19, 2005)... The Cardinal easily defeated 13 other teams to chalk up 1,819 points over the three day event ... Hongzhe Sun was named the male Most Outstanding Athlete of the Meet ... Sun set a new Speedo Cup record in the 200 back with a time of 1:42.82 ... Earlier in the meet, Sun had an 'A' qualifying time in the 200 IM with his time of 1:46.08 ... Sun had an an 'A' qualifying itme of 47.29 in the 100 back ... Stanford winners at the Speedo Cup included Ben Wildman-Tobriner in the 50 free (20.23) and the 100 free (43.96), Andy Grant in the 200 free (1:35.24) and 500 free (4:18.43), Tobias Oriwol in the 400 IM (3:50.18), Paul Kornfeld in the 200 breast (2:00.97), Danny Beal in the 200 fly (1:48.22), Shaun Phillips in the 1650 free (15:19.23), the 200 free relay team (1:20.68), the 400 medley relay team (3:16.71), the 200 medley relay team (1:29.35), the 800 free relay team (6:30.16) and Jason Dunford in the 100 fly (49.03)
* Against California on Nov. 9, Hongzhe Sun won three events (50, 100 and 200 backstroke) and Andy Grant prevailed in the 200 free and 500 free, Ben Wildman-Tobriner in the 50 free, Tobias Oriwol in the 100 IM, and Noa Sakamoto in the 1000 free.
* Stanford began Pac-10 competition on Jan. 20 with a 127-115 victory over fifth-ranked Arizona ... The Cardinal scored victories in seven events including a 1-2-3 finish in the 500 free ... Michael McLean recorded his best time of the season in the 500 free by nearly nine seconds in leading the Stanford sweep with a time of 4:23.15 ... Stanford posted victories in seven events.
* A day later after the victory over nationally-ranked Arizona, Stanford posted a decisive 144-93 victory over #23 Arizona State ... Stanford went 1-2-3 in the 50 free, the 200 IM, the 100 free and the 200 back ... The Cardinal posted wins in eight of the 13 events contested.
* On Feb. 3, third-ranked Stanford scorerd a 134-155 victory over Division II national power Cal State Bakersfield ... The Cardinal swept 14 of the 15 events contested ... Freshman Jason Dunford helped lead the way for the Cardinal with victories in the 50 free (22.25), the 100 fly (48.57) and in swimming the leadoff leg on the 200 free relay (1:20.86) ... Double wins were scored by Hongzhe Sun in the 50 back (22.89) and the 100 IM (51.06), Shaun Phillips in the 50 free (21.03) and 200 free (1:36.83), and Dwight Dumais in one-meter diving (318.97 points) and three-meter diving (311.10 points).
* On Feb. 4, ninth-ranked USC won the 400 free relay to clinch a 123-120 upset victory over third-ranked Stanford ... Stanford won five events ... Hongzhe Sun captured the 200 back (1:42.86) while Paul Kornfeld won the 200 breast (1:57.41), Tobias Oriwol won the 200 IM (1:46.48) and freshman Dwight Dumais won one and three meter diving with scores of 336.90 points and 360.82 points, respectively.

Footnote Facts
The University of Washington is hosting the 2006 Pacific-10 Championships which will be held March 1-4 in Federal Way, Washington ... Fox Sports Net Bay Area (FSNBA) will broadcast a 60-minute condensed version of the meet on a tape delayed basis at noon on Saturday, March 11.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder