Dwight Dumais Places Second At Pac-10 Diving Championship

Feb. 23, 2006

Federal Way, Wa - Stanford freshman Dwight Dumais finished a respectable second place to Arizona State's Joona Puhakka during the finals of three-meter diving at the Pac-10 Men's Diving Championship on Thursday night at the Weyerhauser King County Aquatics Center.

Puhakka was the overwhelming favorite to win the title. His credentials back that up. Punakka, a two-time Olympian (2000, 2004) from Finland, won the one-meter springboard NCAA title and defended his national three-meter springboard championship last year. Puhakka, the 2005 Pac-10 and NCAA Diver of the Year, won the 2006 conference three-meter diving title on Thursday night with 429.80 points. Dumais, Stanford's top diver during the 2006 season, captured runnerup honors with 337.60 points. Nathan Kim, a Stanford sophomore, finished seventh with 315.05 points.

On Friday, the prelims and finals in one-meter diving will be contested. On Saturday, the 2006 Pac-10 men's platform diving champion will be crowned.

Pac-10 Diving Championship (finals, three meter diving)
1. Joona Puhakka, Arizona State, 429.80 points
2. Dwight Dumais, Stanford, 371.20 points
3. Kenny Jenkins, USC, 352.50 points
4. Michael Hilde, USC, 346.70 points
5. John Collier, Arizona, 333.20 points
6. Brant Bingham, Arizona State, 319.05 points
7. Nathan Kim, Stanford, 315.05 points
8. Billy Sweeney, Arizona State, 291.10 points

Friday, February 24
11:00 a.m. - men's one-meter preliminaries
4:30 p.m. - men's one-meter final

Saturday, February 25
2:15 p.m. - men's platform preliminaries
5:15 p.m. - men's platform final

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder