Pacific-10 Conference Men's Swimming Championships

  • Complete Meet Results

    WHAT: Pacific-10 Conference Men's Swimming Championships

    WHERE: Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Federal Way, Wash.

    WHO: Men's swimming teams from ARIZONA, ARIZONA STATE, CALIFORNIA, STANFORD, USC and WASHINGTON will compete for the 2006 Pac-10 Men's Swimming Championship.

    WHEN: Wednesday through Saturday, March 1-4, 2006; Preliminaries begin at 11:00 a.m. and finals begin at 6 p.m. each evening.

    TICKETS: Tickets for the 2006 Pacific-10 Conference Men's Swimming Championships are available only at the Championship site. An All-Session adult pass is $25, an All-Session student/senior citizen pass is $15. Single-day tickets are available at $10 for adults or $6 for a student/senior citizen. Admission is free on Wednesday.

    MEDIA CONTACT: The Washington sports information office will handle publicity of the 2006 Men's Swimming Championships. Misty Tucci, assistant sports information director, can be reached at (206) 685-3119.

    MEET RESULTS: At the conclusion of each event, results will be faxed to the Pac-10 SID offices. Also, the results will be posted on the Pac-10 web site ( on the swimming page, as well as on Washington's web site ( Please contact Katie Cavender at the Pacific-10 Conference office for more information.


    Pac-10 Notes: The 2006 Pac-10 Championships feature some of the top teams in the country ... The latest CSCAA-Top 25 poll includes four Pac-10 teams ranked in the Top 10: No. 1 CALIFORNIA, No. 3 USC, No. 5 STANFORD and No. 6 ARIZONA. ARIZONA STATE rounds out the Conference contingent, ranked 25th ... Five 2005 individual Pac-10 champions are back to defend their six crowns ... They are Stanford's Andy Grant (200-yard freestyle), Shaun Phillips (1,650-yard freestyle), Hongzhe Sun (200-yard backstroke) and Tobias Oriwol (200-yard IM) and USC's Ous Mellouli (500-yard freestyle and 400-yard IM) ... Three NCAA individual champions will take the pool at the Pac-10s. In 2005, Arizona's Simon Burnett won an NCAA title in the 200-yard freestyle, and USC won two NCAA individual titles with Larsen Jensen in the 1,650-yard freestyle and Mellouli in the 400-yard IM ... Team results at last year's NCAA's found three Pac-10 teams in the Top-10. Stanford placed second, followed by No. 3 Arizona and No. 4 California. Arizona State finished 20th.

    School Notes: No. 6 ARIZONA (5-2 Overall, 3-2 Pac-10) won the 2005 Texas Longhorn Invitational with 623 points, marking the first Arizona victory at the meet in school history. Arizona downed the Texas men, who had a 32-point lead over the Wildcats entering the final day of competition ... No. 25 ARIZONA STATE (2-7, 0-4) swam against six straight ranked opponents to finish the regular season. Five of those teams were in the Top-10. The Sun Devils' season has been highlighted by the efforts of sophomore CJ Nuess, who was named Pac-10 Swimmer of the Month in January, after he won the 200-yard and 400-yard individual medley vs. Purdue and the 400-yard IM and 1,000-yard freestyle vs. Minnesota. Nuess's 9:13.49 was the fastest time of the season in the 1,000-yard freestyle ... No. 1 CALIFORNIA (6-1, 3-1) has had 26 individual NCAA B (provisional) qualifying times this season. Jonas Tilly, who was named the Pac-10 Swimmer of the Month for October, was also named the Swimmer of the Week after he won two individual races and anchored four winning relays for the Golden Bears at a tri-meet with Texas and Florida. He won the 50-yard freestyle in a time of 20.37 and the 100 freestyle in an NCAA B standard qualifying time of 44.44. He anchored the winning 200-yard freestyle relay (1:20.36), 400-yard freestyle relay (2:59.01), 200-yard-medley relay (1:30.21) and 400-yard medley relay (3:16.94) ... No. 5 STANFORD (4-1, 4-1) has won the Pac-10 Swimming title in each of the last 24 seasons. The Cardinal took home last year's Pac-10 Championship by winning eight individual and three relay titles. They went on to finish as the NCAA Runner-up for the second straight year ... No. 3 USC's (6-3, 2-2) Ous Mellouli is looking to defend his Pac-10 championship in the 500-yard and 1,650-yard freestyles and the 400-yard IM. A Trojan won those events the past four years ... USC has already set three school records this year, setting bests in the 500-yard freestyle, the 100-yard butterfly and the 400-yard medley relay ... WASHINGTON (6-5, 0-1) is led by sophomore Bruno Barbic, who set the school record in the 50-yard and 100-yad freestyles last year. He was also a member of the 2005 relay teams that set UW records in the 200-yard and 400-yard frestyle relays.

    1. Stanford 932.5
    2. California 882.0
    3. USC 579.0
    4. Arizona 450.0
    5. Arizona State 311.5
    6. Washington 224.0

    50-Yard Freestyle Duje Draganja, CAL 19.22
    100-Yard Freestyle Duje Draganja, CAL 42.30
    200-Yard Freestyle Andy Grant, STAN 1:34.38
    500-Yard Freestyle Ous Mellouli, USC 4:14.66
    1650v Freestyle Shaun Phillips, STAN 14:47.70
    100-Yard Backstroke Jayme Cramer, STAN 46.30
    200-Yard Backstroke Hongzhe Sun, STAN 1:41.61
    100-Yard Breaststroke Gary Marshall, STAN 52.55!
    200-Yard Breaststroke Gary Marshall, STAN 1:52.71!
    100-Yard Butterfly Duje Draganja, CAL 45.63
    200-Yard Butterfly Jayme Cramer, STAN 1:43.09*
    200-Yard IM Tobias Oriwol, STAN 1:45.27
    400-Yard IM Ous Mellouli, USC 3:42.01*

    200-Yard Freestyle Relay California 1:16.77*
    400-Yard Freestyle Relay California 2:49.77*
    800-Yard Freestyle Relay Stanford 6:18.71*
    200-Yard Medley Relay Stanford 1:24.82!
    400-Yard Medley Relay Stanford 3:06.69!

    *Pac-10 Meet Record
    ! Pac-10 Record
    @ American Record

    2006 NCAA Championships: The NCAA Men's Swimming and Diving Championships will take place Thurs., March 23 through Sat., March 25, at the Georgia Tech Aquatic Center in Atlanta, Ga. For tickets, call (404) 894-5447 or (888) TECH-TIX.

    Complete Release in PDF Format
    Download Free Acrobat Reader

  • Now on Pac-12 Network
    3:00 AM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder