Wrestling Earns Three Top Seeds at Pac-10 Championships

Feb. 25, 2006

Pac-10 Wrestling Brackets

PALO ALTO, Calif. - Tournament seedings were released for the 2006 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships Saturday afternoon with a trio of Arizona State University wrestlers earning top billing for the event set for Sunday and Monday inside Maples Pavilion on the Stanford campus. In all, seven Sun Devils are among the Top 6 seeds in their respective weights as the team looks to defend its team title won last at Cal Poly.

Top seeds went to Jeremy Mendoza at 125, Ryan Bader at 197 and Cain Velasquez at heavyweight as the Sun Devils and Oregon Ducks each landed three top ranked competitors. Brian Stith (157) and C.B. Dollaway (184) were selected second while Patrick Pitsch (165) was selected third and Pat Payne (149) selected fifth.

Five of ASU's 10 competitors will take to the mats in the championship pigtail round to open the tournament Sunday morning while the remaining five are set to begin their tournament in the quarterfinals. The Top 3 placers at each weight class will automatically advance to the NCAA Wrestling Championships while nine other Pac-10 wrestlers will be selected for the national meet as wild-cards by the conference coaches.

The first session opens at 11 a.m. PST Sunday with the second session set for 6 p.m.

2006 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships
Arizona State's First Round Opponents
Number preceding wrestler is tournament seed
125 Pigtail - #1 Jeremy Mendoza vs. Bricen Yakabe (Portland State)
133 Quarterfinal - John Espinoza vs. #2 Darrell Vasquez (Cal Poly)
141 Quarterfinal - Jason Robbins vs. #1 Kyle Larson (Oregon State)
149 Pigtail - #5 Pat Payne vs. Orlando Perez (Oregon State)
157 Quarterfinal - #2 Brian Stith vs. Kainoa Casco (Portland State)
165 Quarterfinal - #3 Patrick Pitsch vs. #6 Risto Marttinen (CS Fullerton)
174 Pigtail - Chris Remsen vs. #1 Jeremy Larson (Oregon State)
184 Pigtail - #2 C.B. Dollaway vs. Sean Murphy (Portland State)
197 Quarterfinal - #1 Ryan Bader vs. Larry Ozowara (Stanford)
HWT Pigtail - #1 Cain Velasquez vs. Jared Boyer (Stanford)

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder