Mendoza Punches Ticket to Nationals; Sun Devils Sit Second as Team

Feb. 27, 2006

Stanford Tournament Page | Brackets

PALO ALTO, Calif. - The third session of 2006 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships came to a close Monday afternoon with the Arizona State University wrestling team sitting 1.5 points behind tournament leader Cal Poly (113.5 to 112.0) with only the 10 championship final bouts remaining in the event being held at Maples Pavilion on the Stanford campus.

Overall, the Mustangs reclaimed the team lead after sending seven wrestlers through the consolation draw while ASU sent just three. The tables will be reversed slightly in the finals tonight as the Sun Devils send five to the finals while CPU has just three. Only one bout will feature head-to-head competition with ASU taking on CPU in the final at 197 pounds.

Jeremy Mendoza, who entered the tournament as the No. 1 seed at 125 pounds, rebounded from his semifinal loss to win twice on the day and finish third to earn an automatic berth into the NCAA Championships. Mendoza opened the day with a 17-1 technical fall over No. 6 Cory Fish of Boise State to move into the third-place bout. In his final match of the tournament, Mendoza took down No. 3 Eric Stevenson of Oregon State, 6-4.

True freshman Jason Robbins, seeded sixth at 141, opened the day with a close 3-1 loss to top-seeded Kyle Larson of Oregon State and had to settle for a chance to finish in fifth place. In his medal round bout, Robbins scored a 6-5 decision over No. 3 Matt Schumm of CS Bakersfield to place fifth. The victory over Schumm not only exacted revenge from a loss in the opening round of the tournament, it gave Robbins a shot at true fourth place where he defeated No. 5 Teddy Astorga of CS Fullerton, 8-6 in overtime. Although Robbins won, the result does not count toward team standings and is used only for the conference coaches when deciding the nine wild card selections.

The final Sun Devil to compete on the day was No. 4 Pat Payne (149). Payne dropped both of his bouts by decision, first falling, 4-2, to No. 3 Jeff Owens of Cal Poly in the consolation semifinals before dropping an 8-2 decision to Jesse Padilla of UC Davis in the fifth-place bout.

The remaining bouts of the tournament, the 10 championship bouts, will be held tonight starting at 6 p.m. PST. The Sun Devils will send five to the finals, including No. 2 Brian State (157 vs. No. 1 Ben Cherrington of Boise State); No. 3 Patrick Pitsch (165 vs. No. 5 Brian Busby of CS Bakersfield); No. 2 C.B. Dollaway (184 vs. No. 1 Shane Webster of Oregon); No.1 Ryan Bader (197 vs. No. 2 Matt Monteiro of Cal Poly) and No. 1 Cain Velasquez (285 vs. No. 2 Ty Watterson of Oregon State).

2006 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships
Arizona State Results ONLY
Session III
125 - #1 Jeremy Mendoza (4-1, Third Place)
Conso Semifinal
- Mendoza tech fall #6 Cory Fish (Boise State), 17-1 (7:00)
Third Place Bout - #1 Mendoza dec. #3 Eric Stevenson (Oregon State), 6-4

141 - #6 Jason Robbins (2-2, Fifth Place)
Conso Semifinal
- #1 Kyle Larson (Oregon State) dec. Robbins, 3-1
Fifth Place Bout - #6 Robbins dec. #3 Matt Schumm (CS Bakersfield), 6-5
True Fourth Place - Robbins dec. #5 Teddy Astorga (CS Fullerton), 8-6 sv

149 - #4 Pat Payne (2-3, Sixth Place)
Conso Semifinal
- #3 Jeff Owens (Cal Poly) dec. Payne, 4-2
Fifth Place Bout - Jesse Padilla (UC Davis) dec. Payne, 8-2

Team Standings (through Session III)
1. Cal Poly - 113.5 points
2. Arizona State - 112.0 points
3. Oregon State - 93.0 points
4. Boise State - 91.0 points
5. CS Bakersfield - 83.0 points
6. UC Davis - 73.5 points
7. Stanford - 54.5 points
8. Oregon - 46.0 points
9. CS Fullerton - 41.5 points
10. Portland State - 1.0 point

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder