Lepp Named to Hogan Award Watch List

March 1, 2006

Seattle - Defending NCAA Champion and Washington senior James Lepp has been named to the watch list for the 2006 Ben Hogan Award, it was announced today. The award is presented by Bank of America, in cooperation with Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA). The most prestigious award in men's college golf, The Hogan is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months.

Lepp, from Abbotsford, B.C., took home medalist honors at the 2005 NCAA Men's Golf Championship at Caves Valley Golf Club in Owings Mills, Md. He rallied from a six-shot deficit with a course-record 7-under 63 to force a playoff with Pepperdine's Michael Putnam. Lepp then sunk a two-foot putt on the third playoff hole to win the title. Led by the first team All-American's furious charge, Washington placed third as a team, the best finish in the program's history.

Lepp followed his NCAA win by spending his summer helping Canada win the 2005 Copa de las Americas title in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. He also won his fourth-straight British Columbia Amateur Championship and finished fourth at the Sahalee Players Championship. Lepp capped the summer by winning the stroke play portion of the U.S. Amateur by four strokes, shooting a 5-under 135 in the 36-hole event. He was named the Pacific Northwest Golf Association's men's Player of the Year for 2005.

The Hogan Award selection committee will announce 10 semi-finalists on March 29 and name three finalists on May 2. The three finalists will attend The Hogan Award banquet on Saturday, May 13 at Colonial Country Club - the Saturday prior to the Bank of America Colonial - with the recipient announced that evening. Below are the players named to the watch list, in alphabetical order.

Ryan Blaum, Duke
Scott Brown, South Carolina-Aiken
Dane Burkhart, South Carolina-Aiken
Alejandro CaƱizares, Arizona State
Roberto Castro, Georgia Tech
Jay Choi, New Mexico
Rhys Davies, East Tennessee State
Dillon Dougherty, Northwestern
Matt Every, Florida
Oscar Floren, Texas Tech
Erik Flores, UCLA
Andres Gonzales, UNLV
Jake Grodzinsky, Duke
Rob Grube, Stanford
Brian Harman, Georgia
Dustin Johnson, Coastal Carolina
Anthony Kim, Oklahoma
Chris Kirk, Georgia
Kevin Larsen Georgia Tech
James Lepp, Washington
Luke List, Vanderbilt
Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State
Clay Ogden, Brigham Young
Kyle Reifers, Wake Forest
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest
Martin Ureta, North Carolina