Rob Grube Named To Ben Hogan Award Watch List

March 1, 2006

Norman, Okla. - Bank of America, in cooperation with Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA), has announced the watch list for the 2006 The Ben Hogan Award. The most prestigious award in men's college golf, The Hogan is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months.

Returning PING First-Team All-America selections Ryan Blaum of Duke, Arizona State's Alejandro Cañizares, Roberto Castro of Georgia Tech, East Tennessee State's Rhys Davies, Matt Every of Florida, Oklahoma's Anthony Kim, James Lepp of Washington and Oklahoma State's Pablo Martin highlight the list. Others on the 27 player watch list include Scott Brown and Dane Burkhart - defending NCAA Division II national champion - of South Carolina-Aiken, Jay Choi of New Mexico, U.S. Amateur runner-up Dillon Dougherty of Northwestern, Texas Tech's Oscar Floren, Erik Flores of UCLA, UNLV's Andres Gonzales, Jake Grodzinsky of Duke, Stanford's Rob Grube, Brian Harman - the nation's top-ranked amateur - and Chris Kirk of Georgia, Coastal Carolina's Dustin Johnson, Kevin Larsen of Georgia Tech, Vanderbilt's Luke List, U.S. Public Links champion Clay Ogden of BYU, Kyle Reifers and Webb Simpson of Wake Forest and North Carolina's Martin Ureta.

The Hogan Award selection committee will announce 10 semi-finalists on March 29 and name three finalists on May 2. The three finalists will attend The Hogan Award banquet on Saturday, May 13 at Colonial Country Club - the Saturday prior to the Bank of America Colonial - with the recipient announced that evening.

Ben Hogan Award Watch List
Ryan Blaum, Duke

Scott Brown, South Carolina-Aiken

Dane Burkhart, South Carolina-Aiken

Alejandro Cañizares, Arizona State

Roberto Castro, Georgia Tech

Jay Choi, New Mexico

Rhys Davies, East Tennessee State

Dillon Dougherty, Northwestern

Matt Every, Florida

Oscar Floren, Texas Tech

Erik Flores, UCLA

Andres Gonzales, UNLV

Jake Grodzinsky, Duke

Rob Grube, Stanford

Brian Harman, Georgia

Dustin Johnson, Coastal Carolina

Anthony Kim, Oklahoma

Chris Kirk, Georgia

Kevin Larsen Georgia Tech

James Lepp, Washington

Luke List, Vanderbilt

Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State

Clay Ogden, Brigham Young

Kyle Reifers, Wake Forest

Webb Simpson, Wake Forest

Martin Ureta, North Carolina

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder