Flores Named to Ben Hogan Award Watch List

March 2, 2006

UCLA freshman Erik Flores was named as one of 27 collegiate golfers to the 2006 Ben Hogan Award Watch List, the Golf Coaches Assn. announced this week. The award is co-sponsored by Bank of America, the Colonial Country Club and The Friends of Golf (FOG).

The most prestigious award in men's college golf, The Hogan Award is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the previous 12 months.

'Erik is very humbled and honored to be considered for the Ben Hogan Award, particularly this early in his collegiate career,' said UCLA Head Coach O.D. Vincent. 'Considering the talented group of players competing for this distinction, Erik is working hard to improve each time out to give himself a shot at finishing on top.'

Flores, 18, is one of just three Pac-10 golfers named to the list. He is the highest ranked Pac-10 golfer (No. 10 thru Mar. 1) and leads the fifth-ranked Bruins in scoring average at 71.8. In five appearances this season, he has placed among the Top 10 individuals four times, including a second place finish at the Mercedes-Benz Collegiate in February. In June of 2005, Flores won the Toyota World Jr. Golf Cup with a 20--under par score and led Team USA to its second straight victory.

Returning PING First-Team All-America selections Ryan Blaum of Duke,Arizona State's Alejandro Canizares, Roberto Castro of Georgia Tech, East Tennessee State's Rhys Davies, Matt Every of Florida, Oklahoma's Anthony Kim, James Lepp of Washington and Oklahoma State's Pablo Martin highlight the list. Others include Scott Brown and Dane Burkhart - defending NCAA Division II national champion - of South Carolina-Aiken, Jay Choi of New Mexico, U.S. Amateur runner-up Dillon Dougherty of Northwestern, Texas Tech's Oscar Floren, UNLV's Andres Gonzales, Jake Grodzinsky of Duke, Stanford's Rob Grube, Brian Harman - the nation's top-ranked amateur - and Chris Kirk of Georgia, Coastal Carolina's Dustin Johnson, Kevin Larsen of Georgia Tech, Vanderbilt's Luke List, U.S. Public Links champion Clay Ogden of BYU, Kyle Reifers and Webb Simpson of Wake Forest and North Carolina's Martin Ureta.

The Hogan Award selection committee will announce 10 semi-finalists on March 29 and name three finalists on May 2. The three finalists will attend The Hogan Award banquet on Saturday, May 13 at Colonial Country Club -- the Saturday prior to the Bank of America Colonial -- with the recipient announced that evening.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder