Skip to main content

McFarland Named To All-Big 12 Second Team

Mar 3, 2006

Related Links

#articleRelated {
display: none;

BOULDER - University of Colorado sophomore forward Jackie McFarland was selected to the All-Big 12 Conference second team by a vote of league coaches the conference office announced on Friday.


McFarland is the 10th All-Big 12 first, second or third team honor for the Buffaloes in the 10-year history of the league. She is the first since Tera Bjorklund earned back-to-back first team honors in 2003-04.


A native of Derby, Kan., McFarland is averaging 17.4 points, 9.3 rebounds and 1.4 bocks per game to lead the Buffaloes this season. She ranks fourth in the Big 12 in rebounding and resides among the Top 15 in seven other categories including field-goal and free-throw percentage.


One of just four players in the Big 12 with 14 or more double-doubles this season, McFarland is putting her imprint on this season's record books. She is the eighth CU player to register 500 points in a single-season and is one of only three to record 500 points and 250 rebounds in one campaign. Her 14 double-doubles in 2005-06 are the fourth best single-season total in team history and her 19 career doubles rank fourth all-time on the team charts. McFarland's 144 free throws this year rate fifth on CU's single season list while her 65 career blocks are ninth on the school's all-time ledger.


McFarland has scored 20 or more points nine times this year including a personal-best 34 points against Cal State-Fullerton. She has the second-most points and the third-most blocks and rebounds by a sophomore in school history.


 An excellent student as well, McFarland was recently named to the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America University Division Women's Basketball second team and the Academic All-Big 12 Women's Basketball first team.


Colorado, 9-20 overall, heads to the 2006 Phillips 66 Big 12 Championship next week as the No. 11 seeded Buffaloes will face No. 6 seed Nebraska in a first round game on Tuesday, March 7, at 7:30 p.m. MST, at Reunion Arena in Dallas.