UW's Ryan Appleby is Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year

March 3, 2006

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - University of Washington sophomore Ryan Appleby has been named the 2005-06 Pacific-10 Conference Men's Basketball Fred Hessler Award winner honoring the league's Newcomer of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced Saturday.

For the 14th straight season, the Newcomer of the Year was selected by the Pac-10 radio play-by-play announcers, and named in honor of the late UCLA broadcaster.

Appleby, a 6-foot-2 guard from Stanwood, Wash., is averaging 7.9 points, 1.4 rebounds, and 2.07 assists. He ranks third in the Pac-10, shooting 42.1 percent from 3-point range (61-of-145), while his 2.18 three-point buckets per-game average ranks fifth. All but 13 of his field goals made this season have come from beyond the arc.

The Husky sharpshooter posted a career-high 18 points and 6-of-11 shooting from 3-point range in Washington's victory over Loyola Marymount on Nov. 25. He also added five 3-pointers at California on Jan. 26, and another five treys against Oregon on Feb. 18.

Appleby redshirted last season after transferring from Florida, where he played in 23 games, averaging 1.0 points and 0.5 rebounds in 8.0 minutes per game during the 2003-04 season.

Appleby is the second Husky to be honored as Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year since the award began in 1993. Former UW standout forward Doug Wrenn was honored following the 2001-02 season.

2006 - Ryan Appleby, Washington
2005 - Nick DeWitz, Oregon State
2004 - Jeff McMillan, USC
2003 - Andre Joseph, Oregon
2002 - Doug Wrenn, Washington
2001 - J. Locklier, Washington State
2000 - Loren Woods, Arizona
1999 - Brian Scalabrine, USC
1998 - Bobby Lazor, Arizona State
1997 - Rodrick Rhodes, USC
1996 - Ed Gray, California
1995 - Shamon Antrum, Washington State
1994 - Isaac Burton, Arizona State
1993 - Marcell Capers, Arizona State

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder