Cal Takes Second Place at Pac-10 Championships

March 4, 2006

FEDERAL WAY, Wash. - Third-ranked California won the final event of the night, the 400-yard freestyle relay, and took second place, with 796 points, on Saturday at the Pac-10 Championships at the Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatics Center. Stanford, with 880 points, won its 25th straight conference championship.

The Cal A quartet of sophomore William Copeland, sophomore Jernej Godec, junior Jonas Tilly and senior Milorad Cavic swam a season-best and automatic NCAA qualifying time of 2:51.27 to win the 400-free relay. That time ranks the 2006 Bears fifth on Cal's all-time 400-free relay list.

Cal added a pair of runner-up finishes on the conference meet's final night. Senior Henrique Barbosa was second in the 200 breaststroke in a season-best and automatic NCAA qualifying time of 1:55.93. Junior teammate Graham Lentz was seventh in a provisional NCAA B qualifying time of 1:59.84. Stanford's Paul Kornfeld won the race in a time of 1:55.30.

Bears junior Daniel Lysaught took second in the 1650 freestyle in a personal record and automatic NCAA qualifying time of 15:03.72, Cal's fastest time in the distance race since 1993. Cal sophomore Dominik Meichtry was eighth in 15:14.03 in the 1650, which Stanford's Shaun Phillips won in 14:43.89.

Cal coach Nort Thornton saw three of his swimmers make the 200 backstroke final, with freshman David Russell third (1:43.53, NCAA A), sophomore Mark Eckert fourth (1:43.89, NCAA A) and sophomore Louis Vayo sixth (1:44.81, NCAA B).

Bears junior Patrick O'Neil swam a 1:47.00 to take seventh in the 200 butterfly, which USC's Viktor Bodrogi won in an NCAA-record time of 1:42.35.

Sophomore William Copeland was the only Bear to reach the A final in the 100 freestyle. He took seventh in what was a personal record 43.70 until he swam the lead leg of the 400-free relay in a time of 43.28, which is an automatic NCAA qualifying time. Stanford's Ben Wildman-Tobriner won the 100 free in 42.79.

The results from the Feb. 25 platform final at the Pac-10 Diving Championships were added tonight's tally. Cal freshman Sam Helvie scored a 271.35 to take fourth, and sophomore teammate Javier Rivas was seventh in 239.05.

The Bears' divers next compete March 9-11 in the NCAA Zone E Regional in Oklahoma City, Okla. The Cal swimmers, and perhaps the divers, next compete in the March 23-25 NCAA Championships in Atlanta, Ga.

Pac-10 Championships Team Standings

1. Stanford 8802. California 7993. USC 5304. Arizona 5195. Arizona State 3526. Washington 188

California Results from Day 4 Finals of the 2006 Pac-10 Men's Swimming Championships

1650-Yard Freestyle2. Daniel Lysaught 15:03.72. 8. Dominik Meichtry 15:14.03. 12. Michael Jafari 15:25.15.

200-Yard Backstroke3. David Russell 1:43.53. 4. Mark Eckert 1:43.89. 6. Louis Vayo 1:44.81. 14. Chris Gibson 1:49.22.

100-Yard Freestyle7. William Copeland 43.70. 9. Milorad Cavic 43.47. 10. Jonas Tilly 43.76. 11. Matt Lyon 44.01. 15. Joe Whittington 44.60.

200-Yard Breaststroke2. Henrique Barbosa 1:55.93. 7. Graham Lentz 1:59.84. 9. Miguel Molina 1:59.78.

200-Yard Butterfly7. Patrick O'Neil 1:47.00. 9. Ian Lentz 1:48.19. 10. Garrett Wagner 1:48.37.

Platform Diving (from last week's Pac-10 Diving Championships)4. Sam Helvie 271.35. 7. Javier Rivas 239.05.

400-Yard Freestyle Relay1. Cal A (William Copeland, Jernej Godec, Jonas Tilly, Milorad Cavic) 2:51.27.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder