Jordan Farmar On The John R. Wooden Award National Ballot

March 6, 2006

LOS ANGELES (March 4, 2006) - The John R. Wooden Award Committee has announced the 22 student-athletes, including UCLA sophomore point guard Jordan Farmar, named to the official voting ballot for the 2005-06 Wooden Award All-American Team and Player of the Year, presented annually to the nation's top collegiate basketball player. The winner will be announced on Saturday, April 8, during a national CBS telecast of the John R. Wooden Award ceremony that will air live at 2 p.m. EST from The Los Angeles Athletic Club.

The National Ballot includes 2004-2005 Wooden Award All-Americans J.J. Redick (Duke) and Dee Brown (Illinois), as well as a number of outstanding players that were in the running for last year's Wooden Award. Redick ranks second in the nation in scoring (28.0 ppg) while leading No. 1 Duke to a 27-2 record, and Brown, despite a slow start, leads the Illini in scoring (14.6 ppg), assists (5.7 apg) and steals (1.5 spg). Shelden Williams (Duke) and Craig Smith (Boston College) join Redick and Brown as the only candidates named to last year's official voting ballot. Also, the nation's leading scorer Adam Morrison (28.8 ppg) is featured on the Ballot.

Five newcomers have been selected to the National Ballotwho were not selected to the Midseason list. This group includes Ronnie Brewer (Arkansas), Glen Davis (LSU), Tyler Hansbrough (North Carolina), Chris Lofton (Tennessee), and Leon Powe (California). In total, 12 seniors, four juniors, and five sophomores, including Farmar, were selected to the National Ballot. Hansbrough represents the only freshmen on the Ballot.

'Each of these players should be commended for their athletic and academic achievements as they have all met the comprehensive Wooden Award criteria,' said Richard 'Duke' Llewellyn, founder and chairman of the Wooden Award. 'This year's race for the Wooden Award is wide open, and we look forward to closely following both the conference and national tournaments to see who will emerge from the talent-rich field of national finalists.'

Eight NCAA conferences are represented on the list, including the ACC, Big 10, Big 12, Big East, Pac-10, SEC, Western Athletic Conference and the West Coast Conference. The best represented conferences include the Big East with five candidates and ACC with four candidates. Several teams have two players nominated, including Michigan State (Ager and Davis), Texas (Aldridge and Tucker), Villanova (Foye and Ray), West Virginia (Gansey and Pittsnogle) and Duke (Redick and Williams).

In order to be considered for the National Ballot, all players must have been accredited by their university as meeting the Wooden Award criteria which includes making normal progress towards graduation and maintaining a cumulative GPA of 2.0 or higher. It should be noted that all players on the national ballot were deemed eligible as meeting the Wooden Award academic requirements.

A panel of over 1,000 voters comprised of sports media members and college basketball experts from around the nation will have until 3 p.m. EST on Monday, March 27 to cast their votes for both the 10-member All-American Team and Wooden Award recipient as the most outstanding collegiate basketball player in the United States. The Wooden Award opts for the March 27 deadline because it allows voters to evaluate players up until the Final Four has been determined.

The 2006 Wooden Award ceremony, which will include the presentation of the Men's and Women's Wooden Award, the Wooden Award All-American Teams, and Legends of Coaching Award recipient Jim Boeheim of Syracuse University, will be held at The Los Angeles Athletic Club on April 8, 2006, and will be broadcast live on a national CBS telecast. The top five male and female finalists will be invited to Los Angeles for the awards ceremony and will receive a contribution from The Los Angeles Athletic Club for their university's general scholarship fund.

About the Wooden Award
Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation's best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a cumulative 2.0 GPA. Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird ('79), Michael Jordan ('84), Tim Duncan ('97) and last year's recipient, Andrew Bogut ('05).

Wooden Award 2005-2006 Ballot

Top Candidate Height Year Position School
Maurice Ager 6'5' Sr. Guard Michigan State
LaMarcus Aldridge 6'10' So. Forward Texas
Ronnie Brewer 6'7' Jr. Guard Arkansas
Dee Brown* 5'11' Sr. Guard Illinois
Glen Davis 6'9' So. Forward LSU
Paul Davis 6'11' Sr. Center Michigan State
Jordan Farmar 6'2' So. Guard UCLA
Nick Fazekas 6'11' Jr. Forward Nevada
Randy Foye 6'4' Sr. Guard Villanova
Mike Gansey 6'4' Sr. Forward West Virginia
Tyler Hansbrough 6'9' Fr. Forward North Carolina
Chris Lofton 6'2' So. Guard Tennessee
Adam Morrison 6'8' Jr. Forward Gonzaga
Steve Novak 6'10' Sr. Forward Marquette
Kevin Pittsnogle 6'11' Sr. Center West Virginia
Leon Powe 6'8' S0. Forward California
Allan Ray 6'2' Sr. Guard Villanova
J.J. Redick* 6'4' Sr. Guard Duke
Brandon Roy 6'6' Sr. Guard Washington
Craig Smith 6'7' Sr. Forward Boston College
P.J. Tucker 6'5' Jr. Forward Texas
Shelden Williams 6'9' Sr. Forward Duke

* Indicates player was a 2004-2005 John R. Wooden Award All-American.

For more information on the John R. Wooden Award, please contact Formula at310-578-7050 or visit

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network