Leon Powe on Wooden All-America Team Ballot

March 6, 2006

BERKELEY - Cal sophomore forward Leon Powe is among 22 student-athletes named to the official voting ballot for the 2005-06 John R. Wooden All-America team and Player of the Year. The winner will be announced at 2 p.m. April 8 during a CBS telecast of the Wooden Award ceremony from The Los Angeles Athletic Club.

Powe, who leads the Pac-10 in both scoring (20.0 ppg) and rebounding (9.9 rpg), is one of five players on the final ballot that were not on the 30-player midseason list. In addition to Powe, the others are Ronnie Brewer (Arkansas), Glen Davis (LSU), Tyler Hansbrough (North Carolina) and Chris Lofton (Tennessee). In total, 12 seniors, four juniors, and five sophomores were selected to the National Ballot. Hansbrough represents the only freshmen on the ballot.

'Each of these players should be commended for their athletic and academic achievements as they have all met the comprehensive Wooden Award criteria,' said Richard 'Duke' Llewellyn, founder and chairman of the Wooden Award. 'This year's race for the Wooden Award is wide open, and we look forward to closely following both the conference and national tournaments to see who will emerge from the talent-rich field of national finalists.'

Eight NCAA conferences are represented on the list, including the ACC, Big 10, Big 12, Big East, Pac-10, SEC, Western Athletic Conference and the West Coast Conference. The best represented conferences include the Big East with five candidates and ACC with four candidates. Powe, UCLA's Jordan Farmar and Washington's Brandon Roy are the Pac-10's three nominees.

Several teams have two players nominated: Michigan State (Maurice Ager and Paul Davis), Texas (LaMarcus Aldridge and P.J. Tucker), Villanova (Randy Foye and Allan Ray), West Virginia (Mike Gansey and Kevin Pittsnogle) and Duke (J.J. Redick and Sheldon Williams).

In order to be considered for the national ballot, all players must have been accredited by their university as meeting the Wooden Award criteria which includes making normal progress towards graduation and maintaining a cumulative GPA of 2.0 or higher. It should be noted that all players on the national ballot were deemed eligible as meeting the Wooden Award academic requirements.

A panel of over 1,000 voters comprised of sports media members and college basketball experts from around the nation will have until 3 p.m. ET March 27 to cast their votes for both the 10-member All-America team and Wooden Award recipient as the most outstanding collegiate basketball player in the United States. The Wooden Award opts for the March 27 deadline because it allows voters to evaluate players up until the Final Four has been determined.

The 2006 Wooden Award ceremony, which will include the presentation of the Men's and Women's Wooden Award, the Wooden Award All-America teams, and Legends of Coaching Award recipient Jim Boeheim of Syracuse University, will be held at The Los Angeles Athletic Club April 8 and will be broadcast live on a national CBS telecast. The top five male and female finalists will be invited to Los Angeles for the awards ceremony and will receive a contribution from The Los Angeles Athletic Club for their university's general scholarship fund.

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation's best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a cumulative 2.0 GPA. Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird ('79), Michael Jordan ('84), Tim Duncan ('97) and last year's recipient, Andrew Bogut ('05).

Top Candidate      Ht    Yr   Pos  School Maurice Ager       6'5'  Sr.  G    Michigan StateLaMarcus Aldridge  6'10' So.  F    TexasRonnie Brewer      6'7'  Jr.  G    ArkansasDee Brown*         5'11' Sr.  G    IllinoisGlen Davis         6'9'  So.  F    LSUPaul Davis         6'11' Sr.  C    Michigan StateJordan Farmar      6'2'  So.  G    UCLANick Fazekas       6'11' Jr.  F    NevadaRandy Foye         6'4'  Sr.  G    VillanovaMike Gansey        6'4'  Sr.  F    West VirginiaTyler Hansbrough   6'9'  Fr.  F    North CarolinaChris Lofton       6'2'  So.  G    TennesseeAdam Morrison      6'8'  Jr.  F    GonzagaSteve Novak        6'10' Sr.  F    MarquetteKevin Pittsnogle   6'11' Sr.  C    West VirginiaLeon Powe          6'8'  So.  F    California Allan Ray          6'2'  Sr.  G    VillanovaJ.J. Redick*       6'4'  Sr.  G    DukeBrandon Roy        6'6'  Sr.  G    WashingtonCraig Smith        6'7'  Sr.  F    Boston CollegeP.J. Tucker        6'5'  Jr.  F    TexasShelden Williams   6'9'  Sr.  F    Duke* Indicates player was a 2004-2005 John R. Wooden Award All-American
Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder