Edrick Floreal, Arianna Lambie Honored By MPSF

March 7, 2006

Woodland, Ca - Edrick Floreal, the Franklin P. Johnson Director of Track & Field, has been selected the 2006 Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Women's Coach of the Year. Floreal was a consensus pick by the MPSF head coaches.

Floreal, in his eighth season with the Cardinal and his third as Head Coach, guided the 2006 Cardinal women to their fourth consecutive MPSF indoor team title and a No. 2 Trackwire Dandy Dozen national ranking. Stanford women won eight of 17 events at the recent MPSF Indoor Championships for the second-consecutive year. This title team featured double winners Erica McLain in the long and triple jumps, Janice Davis in the 200 meters and the 1600 meter relay, and Chauntae Bayne-Hackett in the 60-meters and the 1600 meter relay. MPSF Female Athlete of the Year, Arianna Lambie was a triple winner, earning gold in the mile, 3,000 meter run and the distance medley relay. The Cardinal took a 1-2-3 sweep in the mile and a 1-2 finish in the 3000 meters, while garnering four NCAA automatic qualifiers, 17 provisional marks, two meet records (3000 meters, DMR) and two facility records (60m, 200m).

Floreal's experience in two Olympic Games (Canada 1988, 1992), combined with his technical knowledge in the sprints, hurdles and jumps has made him one of the premier coaches in the United States. Under Floreal's direction, Stanford has garnered numerous Pac-10 Championship titles and set countless school records.

Floreal graduated with honors from Arkansas in 1990, where he captured five NCAA triple jump titles and four NCAA team championships.

Stanford University redshirt sophomore distance runner Arianna Lambie has been voted by MPSF head indoor track and field coaches the 2006 MPSF Female Athlete of the Meet after defending her MPSF title in the mile (NCAA provisional time 4:44.27), setting a new MPSF indoor record in the 3,000-meter run (NCAA automatic qualifying time 9:09.58) and helping her winning relay team set a new MPSF championship mark in the distance medley relay (NCAA provisional time 11:11.46). Lambie is currently nationally ranked No. 2 in the Trackwire Dandy Dozen women's mile and Stanford's women's DMR team is ranked fourth by Trackwire.

Lambie, who helped spark the Cardinal women to their fourth straight MPSF indoor title, also led Stanford to the 2005 NCAA, NCAA Regional and Pacific-10 titles in cross country. Lambie, who ran to victory at the Pac-10 and NCAA West Regional Championships, was named the 2005 NCAA West Regional and Pac-10 Cross Country Runner of the Year.

Lambie will compete this week (March 10-11) in the mile, 3000 meters and as a member of the distance medley relay team at the 2006 NCAA Division I Indoor Track & Field Championship at Arkansas.

Tommy Skipper, a pole vaulter from the University of Oregon, was voted the MPSF Male Athlete of the Year. Greg Metcalf, from the University of Washington, was named the 2006 MPSF Men's Coach of the Year.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder