Candice Wiggins Selected as a Finalist for 2006 Wade Trophy

March 9, 2006

Atlanta, Ga. - Stanford sophomore guard Candice Wiggins has been named one of the 12 finalists in contention for the 2006 State Farm Wade Trophy, announced today by the State Farm Wade Trophy Committee along with the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS).

'All 12 finalists have earned this recognition, considering the contributions they have made to their institutions both on and off the court,' said WBCA CEO, Beth Bass. 'Any of these student-athletes would be an excellent representative of Lily Margaret Wade and The State Farm Wade Trophy.'

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists and basketball administrators. Members of the committee will select the winner of The State Farm Wade Trophy from the 10-member Division I Kodak All-America Team and will be announced at the Kodak/WBCA All-America Team Press Conference and The State Farm Wade Trophy Announcement during the WBCA National Convention on Saturday, April 1, 2006 at 9:45 a.m. (ET). This year the WBCA celebrates it's Silver Anniversary, marking 25 years of existence.

'Congratulations to all of the finalists on being the leading candidates for The State Farm Wade Trophy Player of the Year,' said Mark D. Gibson, Assistant Vice President of Advertising at State Farm. 'This is a wonderful honor for such outstanding student-athletes, and we concur with Beth and look forward to seeing these individuals fulfill the rest of their basketball dreams.'

The State Farm Wade Trophy Finalists:
Seimone Augustus, LSU
Sherill Baker, Georgia
Monique Currie, Duke
Jessica Davenport, Ohio State
Candice Dupree, Temple
Sylvia Fowles, LSU
Tasha Humphrey, Georgia
Ivory Latta, North Carolina
Cappie Pondexter, Rutgers
Khara Smith, DePaul
Candice Wiggins, Stanford
Sophia Young, Baylor

  • Inside Pac-12 Basketball: NBA Draft Special
    TODAY | 9:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Mountain
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder