Puhakka Wins Eighth Career Zone E Championship

March 10, 2006

TEMPE, Ariz. (www.thesundevils.com) -- The Arizona State University diving team completed its second day of competition Friday at the Zone E Diving Championships at Oklahoma City Community College in Oklahoma City. The Sun Devils had four divers compete in the finals on the day.

ASU senior Joona Puhakka (Helsinki, Finland) won the one-meter Zone E championship with a score of 842.10. In the final round of the one-meter dive, Puhakka recorded a 427.40 to set an ASU record for the highest score in a championship. After the preliminaries, Puhakka led all divers with a tally of 414.70. The title marks Puhakka's eighth career Zone E championship and his second of the meet as he swept the springboards.

Senior Brant Bingham (Mesa, Ariz.) finished fifth on the one-meter springboard recording a score of 628.00. After the preliminaries, Bingham was tied for third among all divers in the competition with a score of 315.95. Also competing in the finals for the Sun Devils was freshman Billy Sweeney (Tempe, Ariz.). Sweeney finished 17th overall with a score of 502.30.

On the women's side, freshman Erin Hobbs (Calgary, Alberta) finished eighth in the three-meter finals recording a score of 544.00. In the preliminaries, Hobbs tallied a 247.20. Junior Cassidy Farwell (Glendale, Calif.) finished 21st overall with a score of 238.00.

Competition in the Zone E Diving Championships will continue tomorrow at Oklahoma City Community College in Oklahoma City.

-- Sun Devil Swimming and Diving --