Barbosa Wins 2nd Title, Cal 6th at NCAAs

March 25, 2006

ATLANTA, Ga. - California senior Henrique Barbosa won his second title in a school- and pool-record time and the Golden Bears took sixth place at the NCAA Men's Swimming & Diving Championships that ended on Saturday night at the Georgia Tech Aquatic Center. Barbosa won the 200-yard breaststroke in a time of 1:53.97, which surpassed his own former Cal record of 1:55.16 set in 2004. The 2004 Brazilian Olympian, who won the only NCAA titles for the Bears at this year's championships, also won the 100-yard breaststroke crown on Friday. Cal, which was ranked third in the final regular-season rankings, had 250.5 points to finish in the top 10 at nationals for the ninth straight time.

Auburn won its second straight team title with 480.5 points. Arizona was second (440.5), Stanford was third (362.5), Texas was fourth (307) and Florida was fifth (268.5).

This is the 27th time in 32 seasons under Cal head coach Nort Thornton that Cal has finished in the top 10 at the NCAA Championships.

Senior Milorad Cavic swam the second leg of Cal's fourth-place 400-yard freestyle relay, which included junior Jonas Tilly, sophomore William Copeland and sophomore Garrett Wagner and swam a 2:52.37. Arizona won the race in 2:48.39. The event ended the NCAA Championships as well as the careers of seven Bears seniors: Barbosa, Cavic, Miguel Molina, Matt Lyon, Chris Gibson, Evan Lane and Ryan Lean.

Junior Daniel Lysaught had Cal's best finish in the 1650-yard freestyle final, taking 11th place in a personal-record time of 14:58.96. That time also places him fifth on Cal's all-time fastest 1650-free list. Georgia's Sebastien Rouault won the race in 14:29.43.

Cal sophomore Louis Vayo was 15th in the 200-yard backstroke in a time of 1:45.90. Florida's Ryan Lochte broke his own NCAA record to win the race in 1:37.68.

The Bears' other top performances in Saturday night's finals were Copeland's 10th-place finish in the 100-yard freestyle (42.97) and junior Patrick O'Neil's 14th-place finish in the 200-yard butterfly (1:46.27). Copeland's time makes him the seventh-fastest Bear in the 100 free in Cal history. Texas junior Garrett Weber-Gale won the 100 free in 42.11, while Michigan senior Davis Tarwater won the 200 fly in 1:41.48.

The last time Cal finished sixth at the NCAA Championships was in 2002. The last time the Bears finished outside the top 10 was in 1997, when they were 15th.

NCAA Championships Final Team Standings(Top 10 Teams)

1. Auburn 480.5 points
2. Arizona 440.5
3. Stanford 362.5
4. Texas 307
5. Florida 268.5
6. California 250.5
7. USC 223
8. Michigan 209
9. Georgia 197
10. Northwestern 183.5

California Results from the Day 3 Finals of the 2006 NCAA Men's Swimming & Diving Championships

1650-Yard Freestyle
11. Daniel Lysaught 14:58.96. 26. Dominik Meichtry 15:18.13.

200-Yard Backstroke
15. Louis Vayo 1:45.90.

100-Yard Freestyle
10. William Copeland 42.97.

200-Yard Breaststroke
1. Henrique Barbosa 1:53.97*^.

200-Yard Butterfly
14. Patrick O'Neil 1:46.27.

400-Yard Freestyle Relay
4. Cal (Jonas Tilly, Milorad Cavic, William Copeland, Garrett Wagner) 2:52.37.

* Cal Record
^ Pool Record

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder