UCLA Gymnastics Team To Compete At NCAA South Central Regional In Arkansas

March 27, 2006

The ninth-ranked UCLA Gymnastics team will travel to Fayetteville, Ark. for the NCAA South Central Regional Gymnastics Championships on Saturday, Apr. 8. Joining the Bruins in the Regional will be third-ranked Florida, 18th-ranked and host Arkansas, Illinois, Illinois-Chicago, and Southeast Missouri State. The meet will take place at Barnhill Arena at 6:00 pm Central Time.

The top two teams, as well as the top two all-around competitors not from an advancing team, at each regional will receive a berth in the NCAA Championships, which will be at Corvallis, Ore. on Apr. 20-22. In addition, individual event winners who did not already qualify with their team or as an all-arounder will advance.

Also competing at the meet will be five at-large individual all-around competitors and four at-large individual event specialists.

UCLA has the favored Olympic rotation and will begin the regional meet on vault and then will have a bye, followed by bars, beam, a bye, and ending on floor. Southeast Missouri State begins on a bye before bars, Illinois begins on bars, Illinois-Chicago starts on beam, Arkansas starts on a bye before floor, and Florida begins on floor.

Last season, the Bruins won the 2005 NCAA West Regional Championship at Washington and have won a total of 16 regional titles, including seven in a row.

The six regional fields and sites are as follows:

West Region (Stanford, CA, host Stanford) - No. 5 Alabama, No. 8 Stanford, No. 16 Oregon State, Boise State, Sacramento State, San Jose State.

North Central Region (Ames, IA, host Iowa State) - No. 4 Iowa State, No. 11 Arizona State, No. 15 Arizona, Denver, Minnesota, BYU.

South Central Region (Fayetteville, AR, host Arkansas) - No. 3 Florida, No. 9 UCLA, No. 18 Arkansas, Illinois, Illinois-Chicago, Southeast Missouri State.

Central Region (Baton Rouge, LA, host LSU, held on Apr. 7) - No. 6 Oklahoma, No. 7 LSU, No. 16 Penn State, Kentucky, Michigan State, Ohio State.

Northeast Region (Ann Arbor, MI, host Michigan) - No. 2 Utah, No. 9 Michigan, No. 14 Auburn, New Hampshire, Pittsburgh, Rutgers.

Southeast Region (Athens, GA, host Georgia) - No. 1 Georgia, No. 12 Nebraska, No. 13 Missouri, West Virginia, North Carolina, North Carolina State.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder