Eight Huskies Named To Pac-10 All-Academic Women's Hoops Team

March 28, 2006

WALNUT CREEK, CALIF. -- Eight Huskies were named to the 2006 Pac-10 All-Academic Women's Basketball team, conference commissioner Tom Hansen announced Tuesday. Seniors Nicole Castro and Kristen O'Neill led the way, both earning second-team honors.

Selected to the honorable mention team from UW were senior Kayla Burt, sophomore Emily Florence, junior Cameo Hicks, junior Maggie O'Hara, sophomore Andrea Plouffe and junior Breanne Watson.

Castro, a co-captain who played in 22 games for the Huskies, has a 3.39 grade point average and is majoring in English. It is the first second-team honor for Castro, who was named to the honorable mention team as a sophomore and junior. O'Neill, a co-captain who started 9 of 30 games and averaged 8.3 points, has a 3.36 grade point average in communication. It is also the first second-team Pac-10 All-Academic nod for O'Neill, who was a two-time honorable mention honoree as well.

Burt (3.26 gpa, communication major), who retired in mid-January, was an honorable mention selection for the third time, while Hicks (3.23 gpa, business), O'Hara (3.43 gpa, biology) and Watson (3.38, communication) earned their second honorable mention honors. Florence (3.23, communication) and Plouffe (3.21, sociology) were first-time honorees.

To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.


Name School Year GPA Major
Kate Benz WSU Jr. 3.86 Communication/History
Mandy Close OSU Sr. 3.46 Human Development & Family Studies
Lindsey Pluimer UCLA So. 3.67 Undeclared
Krista Rappahahn Stanford Sr. 3.77 Human Biology
Emily Westerberg ASU Jr. 3.44 Elementary Education

Name School Year GPA Major
Nicole Castro Washington Sr. 3.39 English
Adriane Ferguson WSU Jr. 3.54 Asian Studies
Allison Jaskowiak USC Jr. 3.61 English Lit and Language
Aubree Johnson ASU Jr. 3.61 Kinesiology
Kristen O'Neill Washington Sr. 3.36 Communication

HONORABLE MENTION: Jessica Arnold, So., Ariz.; Brynn Bemis, So., WSU; Kayla Burt, Sr., UW; Kaela Chapdelaine, So., ORE; Anna Chappell, Sr., Ariz.; Emily Florence, So., UW; Carolyn Ganes, Jr., ORE; Jamie Hagiya, Jr., USC; Eleanor Haring, Jr., ORE; Cameo Hicks, Jr., UW; Simone Jelks, So., USC; Chloe Kerr, Jr., USC; Dani Montgomery, So., WSU; Kristen Newlin, Jr., Stanford; Jill Noe, Jr., ASU; Maggie O'Hara, Jr., UW; Linda Pace, Jr., Ariz.; Reagan Pariseau, So., ASU; Lauren Pedersen, So., UCLA; Andrea Plouffe, So., UW; Sarah Pool, Jr., Cal; Noelle Quinn, Jr., UCLA; Gabrielle Richards, So., ORE; Brooke Smith, Jr., Stanford; Nicole Stratton, So., WSU; Karen Vickery, Sr., OSU; Breanne Watson, Jr., UW.

-- www.gohuskies.com --

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network