Hughes Named to Lott Trophy Watch List

March 28, 2006

BERKELEY, Calif. - California senior cornerback Daymeion Hughes has been named to the watch list for the 2006 Lott Trophy, awarded annually to college football's defensive impact player of the year. Hughes, an All-Pac-10 first-team selection who led Cal with five interceptions in 2005, is one of 42 players named to the list.

A 6-2, 188-pound product of Los Angeles and Crenshaw High School, Hughes has seven career interceptions and 28 career starts for Cal. He was named a mid-season All-American by Sports Illustrated in 2005, when he helped the Golden Bears achieve an 8-4 record and a 35-28 win over BYU in the Pioneer PureVision Las Vegas Bowl. His interception on BYU's last possession of the bowl game clinched Cal's victory in Las Vegas.

Hughes also led the Pac-10 Conference with 17 passes defended, which included 12 break-ups. His five interceptions put him second among Pac-10 leaders and ranked him 16th in the nation. He returned one of his interceptions 41 yards for a touchdown against Washington and returned another 59 yards against New Mexico State last fall.

Hughes' 2005 highlights included breaking up two passes and making a season-high 10 tackles against top-ranked USC, blocking a kick and recording a sack against Washington State, and forcing a fumble against Stanford.

The Lott Trophy is named after former San Francisco 49ers and Oakland Raiders Hall of Fame safety Ronnie Lott, who starred as a collegian at USC. It is the first college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the award is given to a player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

David Pollack of Georgia and DeMeco Ryans of Alabama were the winners of the first two Lott Trophies. Both Georgia and Alabama received $25,000 for their general scholarship funds. In two years, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has donated $170,000 to various charities, in addition to the two universities.

Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and Master Coaches, a distinguished group of former head college coaches.

The winner will be announced at a gala black-tie banquet at The Pacific Club Dec. 10.

Cal will open the 2006 season against Tennessee on Sept. 2 in Knoxville, Tenn.

Below is the 2006 Lott Trophy Watch List:

2006 Lott Trophy Watch List

Rufus Alexander, Sr., LB, Oklahoma, 6-1, 231

Dwayne Andrews, Sr., LB, Fresno State, 6-0, 240

Patrick Bailey, Sr., LB, Duke, 6-4, 230

Daniel Bazuin, Sr., DE, Central Michigan, 6-3, 257

Tommy Blake, Sr., DE, TCU, 6-3, 250

H.B. Blades, Sr., LB, Pitt, 6-0, 240

Mkistro Bruce, Sr., DL, Washington State, 6-6, 255

Rob Caldwell, Sr., LB, Navy, 6-0, 222

Caleb Campbell, Jr., DB, Army, 6-2, 223

Adam Carriker, Sr., DL, Nebraska, 6-6, 280

Tim Crowder, Sr., DE, Texas, 6-4, 270

Joe Garcia, Sr., DB, Nevada, 6-0, 182

Michael Griffin, Sr., S, Texas, 6-0, 205

Korey Hall, Sr., LB, Boise State, 6-1, 228

Leon Hall, CB, Sr., Michigan, 5-11, 194

Vince Hall, Jr., LB, Virginia Tech, 6-0, 236

Marcus Hamilton, Sr., CB, Virginia, 5-11, 187

Justin Harrell, DT, Tennessee, 6-4, 306

Nate Harris, Sr., LB, Louisville, 6-1, 232

Jay Henry, Sr., LB, West Virginia, 6-2, 225

Will Herring, Sr., LB, Auburn, 6-3, 220

Daymeion Hughes, Sr., CB, Cal, 6-2, 185

Kenny Iwebema, Sr., DE, Iowa, 6-4, 255

Lawrence Jackson, DE, USC, 6-5, 265

Kyle Kinsell, DE, Davidson, 6-0, 235

LaRon Landry, Sr. S, LSU, 6-2, 204

Larry McSwain, Sr., DL, UAB, 6-3, 255

Brandon Meriweather, Sr, S, Miami, 6-0, 188

Will Meyers, Sr. DB, Indiana, 5-11, 201

Quentin Moses, Sr., DE, Georgia, 6-5, 255

Matt Muncy, Sr., LB, Ohio, 6-2, 234

Jesse Nading, Jr., DE, Colorado State, 6-5, 252

Eli Nichols, Sr., DL, Duke, 6-4, 260

Sam Olajubutu, Sr., LB, Arkansas, 5-9, 227

Paul Posluszny, Sr., LB, 6-2, 230, Penn State

Roderick Rogers, Sr., DB, Wisconsin, 6-2, 181

Brandon Siler, Jr., LB, Florida, 6-2, 239

Juwan Simpson, Sr., LB, Alabama, 6-3, 222

Justin Warren, Sr., LB, Texas A&M, 6-3, 237

Eric Weddle, Sr., S, Utah, 6-0, 200

Patrick Willis, Sr., LB, Mississippi, 6-2, 240

Tom Zbikowski, Sr, S, Notre Dame, 6-0, 208

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network