No. 2 Cal Looks To Defend Three Consecutive San Diego Crew Classic Titles

March 28, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Bears Head South: This week the Golden Bears compete for their eight consecutive Copley Cup victory at the San Diego Crew Classic, held at Mission Bay April 1-2. Last year, the varsity eight won its seventh Copley Cup, beating strong crew teams from Navy, Northeastern and Stanford. Pac-10 foe Stanford will return to challenge the Bears reign this year.

The Competition: In the Copley Cup races, the Bears will face Stanford, Temple, UC Davis and Purdue. The second varsity eight will face additional crews from UC Irvine, Colorado, UC San Diego, Notre Dame and Orange Coast College.

Complete Racing Schedule:
Men's Varsity (Copley Cup)
Heat 1 (8:30 a.m.): Cal A, Stanford, Temple, UC Davis, Purdue, Cal B

Men's JV (Sharp Cabrillo Cup)
Heat 1 (10:20 a.m.): Stanford, Purdue, Cal B, UC Irvine, Colorado, UC Davis B
Heat 2 (10:30 a.m.): Cal A, UC San Diego, Notre Dame, Orange Coast College, UC Davis A

Men's Novice (Derek Guelker Memorial Cup)
Heat 1 (9:00 a.m.): UC Davis A, Cal A, UCLA A, Orange Coast College, Chapman, USC A
Heat 2 (9:15 a.m.): USC B, Colorado, Cal B, USD, Long Beach State, Loyola
Heat 3 (9:30 a.m.): Washington State, San Diego State, Stanford, Santa Clara, UCSD, Oregon State
Heat 4 (9:40 a.m.): UC Irvine, Texas, UC Davis B, Sonoma State, UCLA B

Windermere Crew Classic Recap (March 25-26, 2006): Cal raced to its fourth consecutive Windermere Crew Classic Championship. The Bears were undefeated against Long Beach State, Navy, Northeastern, Penn and Yale. Cal rowed to an average fourteen second victory despite tough racing conditions.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network