Candice Wiggins and Brooke Smith Recognized by <i>Associated Press</i>

March 30, 2006

Stanford, Calif. - Stanford's two leading scorers were both honored by the Associated Press this week, as sophomore Candice Wiggins was tabbed a Second-Team All-American and junior Brooke Smith was selected as an All-America honorable mention.

Wiggins, a two-time AP All-American, averaged 21.8 points, 4.8 rebounds and 3.5 assists per game. Her scoring average was fifth best in the nation this year and set a new school record for a single season. She was second on the team in three-pointers, making 90 this season (which also ranks second in the record books for a single season). In her career, she has scored 1,352 points, which ranks 17th in program history and her 19.6 points per game average in her career is a new school record. Wiggins scored in double figures in every game this season, extending her streak to 36-straight games with 10 or more points. She averaged 26.0 points per game in the NCAA Tournament to help the Cardinal reach the Elite Eight for the third-straight season.

Smith finished the season with 584 points (the tenth-best single-season total) bringing her Stanford total to 1,049 career points (No. 24 in school history). Her 59.1% shooting percentage in her career is a new school record, and her 57.6% average this season ranked No. 15 in the nation. Smith also led the team in blocks with 47. She scored a career-high 35 points against Oklahoma to help Stanford advance to the San Antonio Regional Final. Her 35 points in the game ties the program record for points in an NCAA Tournament (Trisha Stevens scored 35 points against Hawai'i in the first round of the 1990 NCAA Tournament).

Selection to the AP Women's All-America Basketball Team is based on the voting by a 46-member national media panel. The 2005-06 AP women's All-America basketball team with school, height, class and key regular-season statistics, followed in parentheses by first-team votes and points awarded on a 5-3-1 basis:

Seimone Augustus, LSU, 6-1, senior, 23.0 ppg, 4.6 rpg, 2.0 apg, .578 fg pct (46 first-team votes, 230 total points).
Ivory Latta, North Carolina, 5-6, junior, 18.4 ppg, 5.0 apg, 77 3-pointers, 67 steals (39, 210).
Cappie Pondexter, Rutgers, 5-9, senior, 21.5 ppg, 4.1 rpg, 3.2 apg, 51 3-pointers (36, 207).
Courtney Paris, Oklahoma, 6-4, freshman, 21.4 ppg, 15.1 rpg, 111 blocks, .611 fg pct (30, 184).
Sophia Young, Baylor, 6-1, senior, 22.2 ppg, 10.0 rpg, 2.1 apg, 67 steals (25, 183).

Jessica Davenport, Ohio State, 6-5, junior, 18.6 ppg, 8.7 rpg, 91 blocks, .624 fg pct (17, 162).
Monique Currie, Duke, 6-0, senior, 16.3 ppg, 5.7 rpg, 2.8 apg, 38 3-pointers (17, 161).
Candice Wiggins, Stanford, 5-11, sophomore, 21.2 ppg, 4.6 rpg, 3.6 apg, 62 steals, 79 3-pointers (4, 109).
Candace Parker, Tennessee, 6-3, freshman, 16.6 ppg, 8.5 rpg, 2.8 apg, 71 blocks, 52 steals, .553 fg pct (5, 98).
Crystal Langhorne, Maryland, 6-2, sophomore, 16.3 ppg, 8.6 rpg, 2.0 apg, .659 fg pct (3, 89).

Sylvia Fowles, LSU, 6-6, sophomore, 16.7 ppg, 11.6 rpg, 66 blocks, .623 fg pct (4, 85).
Tasha Humphrey, Georgia, 6-3, sophomore, 19.6 ppg, 9.0 rpg, 35 steals, .505 fg pct (60).
Khara Smith, DePaul, 6-2, senior, 17.7 ppg, 10.9 rpg, 66 steals, .585 fg pct (1, 50).
Kim Smith, Utah, 6-1, senior, 19.8 ppg, 7.9 rpg, 2.9 apg, 58 steals, 42 3-pointers, .545 fg pct (1, 33).
Candice Dupree, Temple, 6-2, senior, 17.6 ppg, 8.7 rpg, 2.1 apg, 67 blocks, .510 fg pct (30).

(In alphabetical order): Ambrosia Anderson, BYU; La'Tangela Atkinson, North Carolina; Sherill Baker, Georgia; Nikki Blue, UCLA; Melanie Boeglin, Indiana State; Tara Boothe, Xavier; Meg Bulger, West Virginia; LaToya Davis, Texas Tech; Jessica Dickson, South Florida; Megan Duffy, Notre Dame; Katie Gearlds, Purdue; Erin Grant, Texas Tech; Lindsey Harding, Duke; Tiffany Jackson, Texas; Tamara James, Miami; Erlana Larkins, North Carolina; Camille Little, North Carolina; Lyndsey Medders, Iowa State; Leilani Mitchell, Idaho; Noelle Quinn, UCLA; Jillian Robbins, Tulsa; Liz Shimek, Michigan State; Brooke Smith, Stanford; Ann Strother, Connecticut; Shona Thorburn, Utah; Tasha Williams, Louisiana Tech; Lisa Willis, UCLA; Shanna Zolman, Tennessee.
Note: Robbins and Zolman each received one first-team vote.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network