Niland Picks Up 14th Straight Singles Victory, No. 30 Cal Beats Oregon, 7-0

April 1, 2006

BERKELEY - The No. 30 California men's tennis team (11-4, 4-2 Pac-10) swept Oregon, 7-0, on Saturday afternoon at Hellman Tennis Center in Berkeley.

With his single victory today No. 11 senior Conor Niland expanded his record to 14-0 in the first position and stands currently with the best winning streak in the country. Niland defeated Oregon's Markus Schiller in two set, 7-5, 6-1.

No. 122 junior Tyler Browne beat Thomas Bieri in two set, 6-1, 6-2 in the second position. Senior Lennart Maack picked up a victory over Gustavo Loza in the third position, 6-3, 6-1. In the fourth position, junior Daniel Sebescen defeated Eric Pickard, 6-2, 6-3. Sophomore Ken Nakahara easily defeated Fernando Freitas in two sets, 6-2, 6-0. Senior Dean Wallace picked up a victory in the sixth position, 6-1, 6-1.

The No. 58 duo of Niland and Browne outlasted Schiller and Loza in the first position, 8-6. In the second position, Maack and Walalce defeated Freitas and Pickard, 8-5. Junior John Pettit and Sebescen easily beat, Pino and Hugh McDonald, 8-1, in the third position.

The Bears will return home for a make up match on Sunday morning against Washington. The match is slated for a 9:30 a.m. (PST) start at Hellman Tennis Center.

Complete Results

California vs. Oregon
1 p.m. - Saturday, April 1, 2006
Hellman Tennis Center

SCORE: California 7 Oregon 0

No. 1 (CAL) Conor Niland/Tyler Browne d. (UO) Gustavo Loza/Markus Schiller, 8-6
No. 2 (CAL) Lennart Maack/Dean Wallace d. (UO) Fernando Freitas/Eric Pickard, 8-5
No. 3 (CAL) Daniel Sebescen/John Pettit d. (UO) Vlad Pino/Hugh McDonald, 8-1

No. 1 (CAL) No. 11 Conor Niland d. (UO) Markus Schiller, 7-5; 6-1
No. 2 (CAL) No. 122 Tyler Browne d. (UO) Thomas Bieri, 6-1; 6-2
No. 3 (CAL) Lennart Maack d. (UO) Gustavo Loza, 6-3; 6-1
No. 4 (CAL) Daniel Sebescen d. (UO) Eric Pickard, 6-2; 6-3
No. 5 (CAL) Ken Nakahara d. (UO) Fernando Freitas, 6-2; 6-0
No. 6 (CAL) Dean Wallace d. (UO) Arron Spencer, 6-1; 6-1

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network