No. 2 Cal Looks To Defeat Big Ten and Big East Crews

April 5, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Bears Head to Indiana: This week the California Golden Bears head to the Eagle Creek Reservoir in Indianapolis, Ind., April 8-9 to face several highly acclaimed Big Ten and Big East crews. The teams include No. 11 Notre Dame and No. 15 Wisconsin, whom the Bears defeated last week at the San Diego Crew Classic.

'This trip will give us a good opportunity to travel and race outside the region,' said Head Coach Dave O'Neill. 'We saw some of these crews in San Diego, but it will be different racing them at Eagle Creek. The two previous weekends at Windermere and San Diego provided some great competition, and our team is coming together nicely. However, we will be tested this weekend by some very good programs, so we need to be prepared.'

Cal Line-ups:
Varsity: Cox Krista Ellis, Stroke Erin Cafaro, 7 Jelena Djukic, 6 Kaylan Vander Schilden, 5 Megan Smith, 4 Onna Poeter, 3 Mara Allen, 2 Erin Reinhardt, Bow Gina Antonini.

Second Varsity: Cox Megan O'Connor, Stroke Mariah Reddick, 7 Liz Lee, 6 Naomi Markle, 5 Sabine Zimmermann, 4 Candice Rediger, 3 Lauren Nowinski, 2 Rebecca Meissner, Bow Ali Seders.

Complete Racing Schedule:Saturday MorningCal vs. Wisconsin, Louisville9:55 a.m.    Varsity Eight10:15 a.m.   Second Varsity Eight
Saturday AfternoonCal vs. Notre Dame, Purdue4:00 p.m. Second Varsity Eight4:20 p.m. Varsity Eight
Sunday MorningCal vs. Indiana, Purdue8:45 a.m. Varsity Eight9:05 a.m. Second Varsity Eight

San Diego Crew Classic Recap (April 1-2, 2006): For a fourth consecutive year the Bears dominated the field at the San Diego Crew Classic. The varsity eight won its fourth consecutive Jessop-Whittier Cup and the other three Cal boats all won their grand finals. The second varsity eight won the Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness Trophy, the novice eight won the SeaWorld Trophy and the third varsity eight won the Carley Copley Cup. The Bears defeated highly ranked crews including then-No. 8 USC, then-No. 9 Wisconsin, then-No. 11 Washington State, and then-No. 15 UCLA.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network