Track & Field Places 13 Student-Athletes on Academic All-MPSF Lists

April 11, 2006

TEMPE, Ariz. - Thirteen members of the Arizona State University track and field program have earned Academic All-Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) honors for the 2006 indoor track and field season, Al Beaird, executive director of the MPSF announced Tuesday.

In all, 10 women and three men comprised the Sun Devils selected to the list that was made up of student-athletes that attained a 3.0 or high cumulative grade point average, have completed one full academic year at their current institution and also participated in 50 percent or more of the team's indoor track and field meets this winter.

The women's selections were led by a pair of NCAA individual champions with both Amy Hastings (5,000m run champion) and Jacquelyn Johnson (pentathlon champion) earning a place on the academic team. They were joined by indoor All-Americans Victoria Jackson, Jenna Kingma and Sarah Stevens. The remaining Sun Devils selected included Rachel Ellison, April Kubishta, Jessie McLaughlin, Cara Walker and Alana Waterford. The men's selections included Ryan Warrenburg, Joey Heller and Tomas Navarro.

The MPSF academic teams featured student-athletes from 11 different institutions, including Pac-10 teams Arizona State, Arizona, California, Oregon, Stanford, UCLA, Washington and Washington State. Members of the programs at Cal Poly SLO, Long Beach State and UC Irvine also made the list as members of the conference for indoor track and field.

The Sun Devils' outdoor season continues this weekend with a trio of meets, highlighted by the 27th Sun Angel Track Classic presented by Coca-Cola. The field events start Friday night at 5:30 p.m. with the women's and men's hammer event and then start again Saturday at 1 p.m. with the women's discus. Running events are slated to start at 3 p.m. with the 100m hurdles. ASU also will send several athletes to the Mt. SAC Relays Thursday and Friday while other members of the team will compete at the Mesa Classic Friday.

2006 Academic All-MPSF Indoor Track & Field
Arizona State Women
• Rachel Ellison, Amy Hastings, Victoria Jackson, Jacquelyn Johnson, Jenna Kingma, April Kubishta, Jessie McLaughlin, Sara Stevens, Cara Walker and Alana Waterford

Arizona State Men:
• Joey Heller, Tomas Navarro and Ryan Warrenburg

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder