Pac-10 Men's Swimming Awards Announced

April 12, 2006


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

ARIZONA's Simon Burnett was named the Pacific-10 Conference 2005-06 Men's Swimmer of the Year, while STANFORD's Nate Cass and head coach Skip Kenney were named Newcomer and Coach of the Year, respectively, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Burnett, a senior from Tetsworth, U.K., won the 200-yard freestyle in 1:33.26 at the Pac-10 Championships, which established a new Pac-10 meet record. His victory marked one of the first individual Pac-10 championships Arizona has won since 2002. He also was a member of Arizona's first-place 800-freestyle relay team, which set a new Pac-10 meet record and a new school record with a time of 6:18.70. At the NCAA Championships, Burnett defended his 200-freestyle crown, while breaking his own NCAA and school records, and setting new U.S. Open and pool records with a time of 1:31.20. Burnett, who now is a three-time national champion in the individual event, also contributed to Wildcat victories in three relay events to help Arizona post the highest finish at nationals in school history. Burnett and his teammates set a new NCAA, U.S. Open, school and pool record in the 200-yard medley relay, finishing in 1:23.88. Arizona also earned the 800-yard freestyle relay national championship with a new school and pool record time of 1:16.67. The 400-yard freestyle relay team won Arizona's fourth relay title with a new pool and school record time of 2:48.39

Cass, a freshman from Columbus, Ohio, placed second in the 200-yard individual medley, fifth in the 100-yard backstroke, and seventh in the 200-yard backstroke at the Pac-10 Championships. At the NCAA Championships, Cass finished seventh in the 200 IM, eighth in the 100-yard breaststroke, and 10th in the 200-yard breaststroke.

Kenney led the Cardinal to their 25th consecutive Pacific-10 Championship. At the Conference Championships, he coached his swimmers to seven individual and two relay titles. Kenney coached Stanford to a third-place finish at the NCAA Championships in Atlanta, Ga., after the Cardinal were voted champion of the 2005-06 dual meet season in the S.R. Smith - College Swim Coaches Association (CSCAA) Top-25 Poll. The men's swimming Coach of the Year award is the 18th of Kenney's career.

The Swimmer, Newcomer and Coach of the Year honors are determined by a coaches vote.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.