Pac-10 Women's Diving Awards Announced

April 12, 2006


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

USC notched two diving awards as Blythe Hartley was named the 2005-06 Pacific-10 Conference Diver of the Year and Hongping Li was named Coach of the Year. UCLA's Marisa Samaniego was named Newcomer of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Hartley, a senior from North Vancouver, B.C., rounded out her collegiate career by winning both the one-meter and three-meter springboard titles at the 2006 NCAA Championships. By winning both events in the same meet, she became just the fourth diver in NCAA history to accomplish the feat and was named the 2006 NCAA Women's Diver of the Year, her third such honor. Hartley came into this year's national championship meet as the only diver in NCAA history to own national titles in all three diving events. In addition to this year's springboard success, she took seventh in the final round of the platform event, marking her 12th NCAA final appearance in 12 attempts, and making her a career 12-time All-American. At the Pac-10 Championships, Hartley won both the one and three-meter springboards and was named Diver of the Meet. Hartley was among four women's swimmers and divers named as a finalist for the 2005-06 Swimming and Diving Honda Sports Award to determine the top woman collegiate athlete in the sport.

Samaneigo, a freshman from Altadena, Calif., finished fifth in the one-meter and ninth in the three-meter springboard event at the 2006 Pac-10 Diving Championships, qualifying for the Zone E Diving Championships, where she was UCLA's highest finisher, placing eighth with a total score of 521.40. At the NCAA Championships, she placed 38th in the one-meter and 32nd in the three-meter springboard.

In his seventh year at USC, Li helped lead the Trojans to two Pac-10 individual titles and four top-eight finishes. The USC swimming and diving team took sixth overall at the NCAA Championships. The Women's Coach of the Year award is Li's fifth in the last six years. Li ws also named the 2006 NCAA Women's Diving Coach of the Year, his second such honor.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder