Rod Dedeaux And Fred Lynn Listed On Ballot For College Baseball Hall Of Fame

April 12, 2006

LUBBOCK, Texas -- The College Baseball Foundation announced today the names of 46 all-time collegiate baseball greats - 22 former players, 12 coaches and 12 veteran candidates, who comprise the 2006 Ballot for induction into the College Baseball Hall of Fame. USC has two individuals that are up for election: legendary head coach Rod Dedeaux and outfielder Fred Lynn (1971-73).

Dedeaux, who passed away in January at the age of 91, won 11 national championships during his 45-year career at USC and coached 59 players who eventually played in the major leagues.

Lynn was a career .320 hitter at USC and a member of three national championship squads. He was an All-America first team selection in 1972.

The ballot was e-mailed earlier to the eighty-member Hall of Fame Voting Committee, who will participate in two rounds of elimination votes in order to pare these legendary names to the final list of first-ever Hall of Fame Inductees.

The College Baseball Hall of Fame Class of 2006 will be announced at the completion of voting in late April and officially inducted during a two-day celebration of collegiate baseball, which will feature the theme `The Past Meets Present'. The CBF plans to kick off the celebration on Monday, July 3rd with the third annual Brooks Wallace College Baseball Player of the Year Award dinner to be held at the United Spirit Arena, on the campus of Texas Tech University.

The Inaugural Hall of Fame Class will be in attendance and recognized at the ceremony, then make their acceptance speeches during the Official Induction Ceremonies on July 4th as part of the annual 4th on Broadway Festival in Lubbock, considered the 'Largest Free Festival in the State of Texas.' Both events will be will be carried nationally by Fox Sports Network, as well as the Fox College Sports Networks (Atlantic, Central and Pacific).

The 80-member CBF Hall of Fame Voting Committee is split into eight committees of ten members, which will choose these elite individuals. Persons assigned to the ABCA Veteran, ABCA Active, National, Historical, NCBWA, Former Players, National Media and Regional Media Committees will comprise the total voting group. Each committee member has been chosen to achieve a balanced representation from around the country--Far West, Northwest, Southwest, Mountain, Mid-South, South, Southeast, Deep South, Mid-North, Northeast. The entire process will be done online via the Internet.

'We take the responsibility of researching and selecting the most outstanding players and coaches in the history of collegiate baseball very seriously, said CBF Chairman/CEO John Askins. 'The mission of the CBF is to preserve their legacies as an inspiration for the future generations of players and fans.'

Over 300 candidates were originally submitted for consideration by universities and CBF members. In conjunction with the Society for the Advancement of Baseball Research (SABR), the ABCA Veteran and CBF Historical Committees comprised the CBF Research Committee, which was charged with the responsibility to evaluate nominees worthy of official consideration. After deliberations during the past month, the official ballot was submitted. A complete list and short biographies of the 2006 Hall of Fame ballot nominees are available at:

Players become eligible for the College Baseball Hall of Fame ballot 5 years after the student-athlete's final collegiate season, not to include any active player on a professional baseball team roster. Former players must have completed one year of competition at a 4-year institution, and must have made an All American team (post-1947), or an All League team (pre-1947, or have earned verifiable national acclaim).

Coaches become eligible after ending their collegiate career, not to include an active coach on a professional baseball team. They must have achieved 300 career wins, or have won at least 65% of their games.

Players and Coaches will also be evaluated for their citizenship both during and after their active careers.

Each year those candidates named to the official ballot, but not selected for induction to the Hall of Fame, will become holdovers and automatically appear on the ballot the following year.

The Veteran and Historical Committees will research and nominate individuals from the pre-1947 era.

A complete list of names for the entire Hall of Fame Voting Committee will be made available after the 2006 inductees are announced.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.