Anna Key Receives Pac-10 Sportsmanship Award

April 13, 2006

BERKELEY - Junior Anna Key, a goalkeeper on the Golden Bear women's soccer team, and Washington State hurdler Eric Nygard have been named recipients of the 2006 Pac-10 Sportsmanship Award, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced Thursday.

The award, selected by members of the Pac-10 Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC), is based on good sportsmanship and ethical behavior in participation of intercollegiate athletics, as well as a demonstration of good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Key, an Oakland native who attended Bishop O'Dowd High School, played in five games this past season, helping Cal to a 16-4-2 overall record and the program's first NCAA Sweet 16 appearance since 1988. Key logged over 175 minutes in goal, picking up six saves, while giving up just one goal for a 0.51 goals-against average.

A 2005 honorable mention Pac-10 All-Academic choice majoring in peace and conflict studies, Key spent the summer in Malawi, Africa, helping to develop and promote the importance of staying in school and participating in sports. During her stay, she volunteered at an orphan care center which supports various villages in Malawi, housing upwards of 900 children who have been orphaned by AIDS or poverty. Through her leadership, the Cal SAAC is looking to raise funds for sports programs in Malawi. Upon graduation, Key hopes to obtain a job in public or international policy.

Key is the second Cal student-athlete to receive the Sportsmanship Award from the Pac-10, joining women's water polo player Cara Chlebicki, who earned the honor last year.

Despite being diagnosed with cancer in October 2005, Nygard continues to play an important role on the Cougar track & field team, supporting the squad at practice and competition, as well as competing in local track meets. Outside of college athletics, Nygard is involved in several volunteer activities through his church, organizing and participating in a youth retreat for over 500 kids, where he spoke and connected with young children. Pursuing a degree in biology as a pre-med major, Nygard and his wife, Jenny, are the proud parents of a daughter, adopted in December.

Also nominated for this year's award were Simon Burnett, Arizona; Cain Velasquez, Arizona State; Scott Smith, California; Matt Leinart, USC; James Lepp, Washington; Anna Chappell, Arizona; Josie Hancock, Arizona State; Lindsay Draper, USC; Courtney Thompson, Washington and Kate Benz, Washington State.

Other Pac-10 Sportsmanship Award winners include Channing Frye of Arizona (2005) and Grayling Love of Arizona State (2004).

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder