Bobo Brayton, John Olerud Named To College Baseball Hall of Fame Ballot

April 13, 2006

PULLMAN, Wash - Former Washington State University coach Charles 'Bobo' Brayton and pitcher/first baseman John Olerud were two of 46 college baseball greats included on the 2006 ballot for induction into the College Baseball Hall of Fame, it was announced by the College Baseball Foundation.

When he retired from WSU in 1994 after 33 years leading the Cougars, Brayton ranked as the fourth winningest baseball coach in NCAA Division I history with 1,161 wins. A member of the WSU Athletic Hall of Fame, Brayton, who led the Cougars to 21 conference titles in 33 years, was named Pacific-10 Conference Northern Division coach of the year five times and West Coast NCAA Regional coach of the year once.

Olerud spent three years in a Cougar uniform, hitting .434 for his career (160-369) with 37 doubles, 33 home runs 131 RBI and a .824 slugging percentage. On the mound he posted a 26-4 record with a 3.17 ERA and 169 strikeouts in 39 appearances. Inducted into the WSU Hall of Fame in 2001, Olerud left Pullman as the school's career leader in batting average (.434), slugging percentage (.824) and in the top five in home runs (33) and pitching wins (26).In 1988 he was named Baseball America's NCAA Player of the Year after hitting .464 with 83 runs, 21 doubles, 23 home runs and 81 RBI. That same season he was 15-0 on the mound with a 2.49 ERA.

The 80-member CBF Hall of Fame Voting Committee is split into eight committees of ten members, which selects the inductees. Persons assigned to the ABCA Veteran, ABCA Active, National, Historical, NCBWA, Former Players, National Media and Regional Media Committees will comprise the total voting group. Each committee member has been chosen to achieve a balanced representation from around the country--Far West, Northwest, Southwest, Mountain, Mid-South, South, Southeast, Deep South, Mid-North, Northeast. The entire process will be done on-line via the Internet.

Players become eligible for the College Baseball Hall of Fame ballot five years after the student-athlete's final collegiate season, not to include any active player on a professional baseball team roster. Former players must have completed one year of competition at a four-year institution, and must have made an All-American team (post-1947), or an all-league team (pre-1947, or have earned verifiable national acclaim).

Coaches become eligible after ending their collegiate career, not to include an active coach on a professional baseball team. They must have achieved 300 career wins, or have won at least 65 percent of their games.

The College Baseball Hall of Fame Class of 2006 will be announced at the completion of voting in late April.

-- --
Now on Pac-12 Network
8:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder