Twenty-Three Track and Field Athletes Earn MPSF All Academic

April 20, 2006

WOODLAND, Calif. - Twenty-three California track and field athletes were named to the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) indoor track academic all-conference team announced by the MPSF. Sixteen women and seven men earned the honor.

For the women, Kelechi Anyanwu (throws), Bridgett Duffy (distance), Tifani Grimes (pentathlon, high jump), Carrie Johnson (throws), Tiffany Johnson (sprints, jumps), Lindsay Maclise (mile, DMR), Pippa McDonald (middle distance), Danielle Navarre (pole vault), Osarhiemen Omwanghe (sprints, hurdles, relays), Abby Parker (distance), Angie Pressey (sprints, horizontal jumps), Cassandra Strickland (horizontal jumps), Brook Turner (sprints, relays), Trinety White (horizontal jumps), Rebecca Yau (distances), Artensia Young (horizontal jumps) were all honored.

On the men's side, Donny Appanaitis (pole vault), Alex Beitashour (400m), Chris Chavez (5000m), Jonas Hallgrimmson (heptathlon), John Ludden (weights), Alex McClary (800m), Andy McClary (mile) earned the all academic honor.

To be selected to the academic all-conference team an student-athlete must have a 3.0 or better cumulative grade point average and must be at least a sophomore athletically. A student-athlete must have completed one full academic year at the member institution prior to the season for which the award is being received. A student-athlete must have competed in fifty percent or more of the institution's competitions in the indoor season.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder