Amateur Softball Association Announces 10 Finalists For 2006 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year

May 11, 2006

Oklahoma City, Okla. -- The Amateur Softball Association, the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States, announced today the ten finalists for the 5th Annual USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award. An initial Watch List was released on February 1st and the 25 finalists were announced on April 7. The USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by NCAA Division I collegiate softball players across the country.

The ten finalists for the 2006 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award, listed in alphabetical order, are:

*Monica Abbott (Tennessee); Junior, Pitcher; Salinas, CA
Sarah Fekete (Tennessee); Senior, Outfield; Maryville, TN
Danyele Gomez (Louisiana Lafayette); Senior, Outfield; Metairie, LA
Alicia Hollowell (Arizona); Senior, Pitcher; Suisun, AZ
*Caitlin Lowe (Arizona); Junior, Outfield; Tustin, CA
*Cat Osterman (Texas); Senior, Pitcher; Houston, TX
*Jennie Ritter (Michigan); Senior, Pitcher; Dexter, MI
Anjelica Selden (UCLA); Sophomore, Pitcher; Vacaville, CA
Angela Tincher (Virginia Tech); Sophomore, Pitcher; Eagle Rock, VA
Stephanie VanBrakle (Alabama); Senior, Pitcher; Chambersburg, PA
*A Top 10 Finalist in 2005

On May 28 the list will be cut to three and those final three players will travel to Oklahoma City for the announcement of the winner during opening ceremonies of the 2006 NCAA Women's College World Series on May 31.

A replica of the award will be placed in a permanent display in the ASA National Softball Hall of Fame in Oklahoma City, along with photos of the winner. An additional replica of the award will be presented to the player's academic institution during an athletic event in the Fall.

Cat Osterman, one of four players in the top 10 last year, became the first two-time winner of the National Player of the Year Award in 2005 after leading her Longhorns to the Big 12 title and a berth into the NCAA Women's College World Series. Past winners of the award include Stacey Nuveman (UCLA-2002), Osterman (Texas-2003) and Jessica Van der Linden (Florida State-2004).

- Courtesy USA Softball

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.