Pac-10 Announces Crew All-Conference Honors

May 26, 2006

Walnut Creek, Calif. - Stanford's Craig Amerkhanian was named Pacific-10 Conference Men's Rowing Coach of the Year, while Washington State's Jane LaRiviere was named Pac-10 Women's Rowing Coach of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

California junior Elliot Hayes was named Pac-10 Men's Rowing Newcomer of the Year, and California freshman Krista Ellis was named the Women's Rowing Newcomer of the Year.

Hayes led the California men's team to its 13th Pac-10 title and eighth in nine years. In the varsity eight race, the Bears finished ahead of Stanford, Washington, Oregon State, USC and Washington State. The victory left the Bears undefeated on the day and helped the team win its second consecutive Pac-10 championship in convincing fashion. The Bears will next compete in the IRA Championship, June 1-3, in Cherry Hill, N.J.

Ellis led the California women's team to its third consecutive Pac-10 team title. Second-ranked California won three out of four races to win the Pac-10 championship. The Golden Bears won the varsity eight, the second varsity eight and the varsity four. For a third consecutive year the team's varsity eight won its race. The Bears will next race at the NCAA Championships, May 26-28, in Mercer County N.J.

The coach of the year honor is the first for Amerkhanian and also marks LaRiviere's first coach of the year honor.

The 2006 All-Pac-10 Rowing teams are listed below:

Kevin Baum, STAN
Dan Casaca, CAL
Jake Cornelius, STAN
Elliot Hovey, CAL
Luke Jones, WSU
Ante Kusurin, WASH
Kevin Lorell, USC
Kiel Petersen, WASH
Dan Scholz, OSU
Donny Simkin, STAN
Jan Tize, CAL
Max Wyatt, CAL

Mara Allen, CAL
Susan Be Ville, STAN
Kasia Bloch, WSU
Tatiana Boldyreva, USC
Erin Cafaro, CAL
Jelena Djukic, CAL
Megan Kalmoe, WASH
Ligita Kaviere, USC
Caroline Leibinger, OSU
Kaylan Vander Schilden, CAL
Vanessa Teff, UCLA
Jody Thomas, WSU
Sarah Waterfield, WSU

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network