Three Sun Devils Named To Lombardi Award Watch List

Aug. 10, 2006

TEMPE, Ariz. - Three Arizona State University Sun Devils have been named to the Rotarty Lombardi Award Watch List, the award given annually to the nation's top offensive or defensive lineman. Senior OL Andrew Carnahan, senior DE Loren Howard and junior TE Zach Miller all represent ASU on the preseason Watch List. Of the 66 student-athletes on the list, 10 of them are from the Pacific-10 Conference. ASU and USC lead the conference with three players on the list. Former Sun Devil Terrell Suggs was the 2002 Lombardi Award winner.

Carnahan, a senior from Hereford, Texas, showed his toughness last season, battling through a series of injuries. Carnahan played with a broken finger, a fractured ankle and played most of ASU's Insight Bowl victory over Rutgers with a deep thigh bruise that generally would have kept an athlete out of a game. Despite the list of ailments, Andrew was able to play in nine of the Sun Devils' 12 games last season, missing three due to surgery on his hand.

Howard, from Scottsdale, Ariz., sat out last season after transferring to ASU from Northwestern. He was a freshmen All-American and Honorable Mention All-Big-10 performer during his three seasons with the Wildcats.

Miller, from Mesa, Ariz., is a consensus preseason All-American and All-Pac-10 selection. Miller caught 38 passes for 478 yards and four touchdowns during his sophomore season in 2005. He averaged 12.5 yards a catch and was the team's third leading receiver. As a freshman, Miller broke the ASU record for receptions in a season by a tight end with 56. His 56 receptions in 2004 tied for the most receptions in the NCAA by a tight end. Along with his 56 receptions, he tallied 552 receiving yards and six touchdowns.The Rotary Lombardi Award goes annually to the college football lineman -- offense or defense -- who, in addition to outstanding performance and ability, best exemplifies the discipline of Vince Lombardi. A distinguished committee of nearly 400 of America's most prominent college football coaches, football writers, sports broadcasters and previous Rotary Lombardi Award winners, participate in a three-tiered balloting process. Each year the selection committee selects twelve semifinalists, four finalists and the ultimate winner in balloting conducted by the accounting firm of KPMG Peat Marwick.

Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.