Bruin Men Defeat UC Riverside in a Dual Meet Cross Country Race on Friday

Sept. 1, 2006

Complete Results

Sophomore Laef Barnes helped lead the Bruin men to victory in an early morning dual meet between UCLA and UC Riverside on Friday as the Bruins defeated the Highlanders 25-30.

Barnes finished second to UCR's Raul Lara (17:43) in a time of 17:45, while juniors Kyle Shackleton (17:53) and Mike Haddan (17:55) rounded out the top-five with third and fourth-place finishes, respectively. Sophomore Drew Shackleton also had a strong performance, finishing seventh overall in a time of 18:10.

'This was the first competition that Laef has led our team, and we are very encouraged by his performance today,' said Cross Country Coach Eric Peterson.

'The early pace in the men's race was aggressive and was set by the UCR runners,' added Peterson. 'They passed through the first 800m in 2:06 and we weren't as prepared for such an aggressive pace to start with. We had some very strong running from Laef, Mike, Kyle and Drew in the middle portion of that race, which was the difference in us winning. Running in a dual meet is something new for our program and I really think it was a good opening ocmpetition for us and it's going to jump start our season.'

The Bruins also saw some promising performances from three of their top freshmen - Alex Crabill, Jake Matthews and Marlon Patterson. Crabill finished in the top-10 with his ninth-place run (18:23), while Matthews was 11th (18:32) and Patterson was 13th (18:43).

'I am very encouraged by the effort given by our top three freshmen,' said Peterson. 'They really showed that they are ready to step into the program and be competitive right away.'

The men will now head to Lake Tahoe, CA for an 18-day training camp before heading back to the Roy Griak Invitational on September 23 in St. Paul, MN.

UCLA vs. UCR Results (top-5)
1. Raul Lara (UCR), 17:43; 2. Laef Barnes, 17:45; 3. Kyle Shackleton, 17:53; 4. Mike Haddan, 17:55; 5. Andrew Tachias (UCR), 17:57.

UCLA Results
2. Laef Barnes, 17:45; 3. Kyle Shackleton, 17:53; 4. Mike Haddan, 17:55; 7. Drew Shackleton, 18:10; 9. Alex Crabill, 18:23; 11. Jake Matthews, 18:32; 13. Marlon Patterson, 18:43; 17. Marco Anzures, 19:46; 18. Ryan Gordon, 20:02.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.