Michigan, Chico State Take Sundodger Titles

Sept. 16, 2006

Men's Invitational Results | Women's Invitational Results | Men's Open Results | Women's Open Results

SEATTLE - The third-ranked Michigan women and Division-II Chico State men ran away with the team titles in the featured races Saturday at the 15th-Annual Sundodger Invitational at Lincoln Park, besting a strong regional field of collegiate and club teams.

The fourth-place finishers at the NCAA Championships a year ago, Michigan placed three runners into the top-five, and five in the top-14 for a total of 27 points in the featured women's invitational race, well ahead of runner-up Club Northwest (69) and the 21st-ranked Huskies (70). Washington State, featuring defending champion Haley Paul, was fourth with 77 points, while Oregon State took sixth at 205.

Michigan's Erin Webster became just the second collegiate athlete since 2001 to win the featured race, which often includes numerous post-collegiate and professional runners. Her time of 20 minutes, 17 seconds was 14 seconds better than defending champion Paul's runner-up effort of 20:31, itself just ahead of former Idaho All-American Dee Olson's 20:34 posting.

Husky junior Amy Lia, the reigning NCAA 1,500-meter champion, led Washington's effort with a sixth-place finish in 21:02, nine seconds faster than sophomore Anita Campbell, who placed seventh. Freshman Katie Follett ran well in her collegiate debut, placing 17th overall and third among UW finishers in 21:27, while Tori Tyler (23rd, 21:33) and Trisha Rasmussen (21:34) rounded out the Huskies' top-five.

The race marked the first time since 1996 that a UW women's team has finished lower than second at the Sundodger, and was just the second time since 1998 that a Husky failed to place among the top-five individuals.

'I thought our ladies at the front, particularly Amy and Anita, did a good job of staying with the Michigan girls and fighting for spots in that top-10,' said 10th-year head coach Greg Metcalf after the race. 'Where we lost points was in that three-to-five range. In some ways it's good to have a race like this early, because it shows us exactly what we need to do to become the type of team we think we can be.'

The story was similar on the men's side, where Chico State -- the third-place finisher at the 2005 NCAA Division-II Championships -- packed four runners into the top-10, while Washington could manage just one. Chico's Scotty Bauhs earned a convincing 15-second victory, his time of 23:43 just one second off the meet record. Chico's 40 points were less than half of runner-up Washington's 82, while Washington State (85), UC Riverside (114) and UC Davis (122) completed the top-five.

Junior Carl Moe led the UW men in sixth (24:15), ahead of redshirt freshman Kelly Spady (11th, 24:26), senior Kevin Peters (19th, 24:42), sophomore Jon Harding (22nd, 24:46) and redshirt freshman Chris Ahl (24th, 24:51).

The Chico State win snapped a four-year Sundodger win streak for the Husky men -- the longest such streak for any team in the meet's 15-year history.

'We went without a few of our big horses in this race because we wanted to give some of our younger a chance to show what they could do,' Metcalf said of his men's team, which was missing two of the four returning runners from the seven-man unit that placed 27th at the NCAA meet a year ago. 'It was great to see Carl Moe back at the front of the pack after the injury issues he's had the last couple of years, and I thought that Kelly Spady did a terrific job to get up into that lead group and stay with them. We'd have liked to have finished better as a team, of course, but I definitely saw some good things out there that get me excited.'

Washington will return to the course in two weeks at the Bill Dellinger Invitational in Oregon, before wrapping up the abbreviated regular season with the Pre-National Meet in Terre Haute, Ind., on Oct. 14.

2006 Sundodger Invitational
Lincoln Park; Seattle, Wash.
Sept. 16, 2006

Men's Invitational
Team Results: 1. Chico State 40; 2. Washington 82; 3. Wash. State 85; 4. UC Riverside 114; 5. UC Davis 122; 6. Club Northwest 135; 7. Boise State 164; 8. Idaho 228; 9. Gonzaga 250; 10. Santa Clara 275; 11. Seattle Running Club 307; 12. Portland State 331.
Individual Champion: Scotty Bauhs, Chico State, 23:43.
Husky Finishers: 6. Carl Moe, 24:15; 11. Kelly Spady 24:26; 19. Kevin Peters, 24:42; 22. Jon Harding 24:46; 24. Chris Ahl, 24:51; 33. Travis Boyd, 24:58; 37. Adam Shimer, 25:05; 44. Matt Owen, 25:12; 52. Tom Peterson, 25:27; 57. Joe Darda, 25:32; 68. Ryan Brown, 25:53; 69. James Wilson, 25:56; 77. Jordan Swarthout*, 26:06.

Women's Invitational
Team Results:
1. Michigan 27; 2. Club Northwest 69; 3. Washington 70; 4. Wash. State 77; 5. UC Riverside 144; 6. Oregon State 205; 7. Portland 241; 8. Santa Clara 256; 9. Seattle Running Club 275; 10. Idaho 284; 11. Boise State 285; 12. UC Davis 312; 13. Portland State 314; 14. Gonzaga 388.
Individual Champion: Erin Webster, Michigan, 20:17
Husky Finishers: 6. Amy Lia, 21:02; 7. Anita Campbell, 21:11; 17. Katie Follett, 21:27; 23. Tori Tyler, 21:33; 25. Trisha Rasmussen, 21:34; 32. Annaliese Chapa, 21:41; 41. Brooke Lademan, 21:48; 54. Mo Huber 22:14; 56. Sayaka Yoshinaga, 22:17; 61. Anna Imperati, 22:21; 73. Lauren Ho, 22:35; 84. Lindsey Kirschman, 22:51; 96. Emily Collins, 23:00; 127. Olivia Garrow, 24:15.

Men's Open
Top-5 Teams:
1. Chico State 80; 2. Western Washington 98; 3. Concordia Univ. (Ore.) 128; 4. Spokane CC 138; 5. Alaska-Anchorage 183.
Individual Champion: 1. David Kiplagat, Alaska-Anchorage, 24:38.

Women's Open
Top-5 Teams:
1. Simon Fraser 59; 2. Seattle Pacific 71; 3. Chico State 80; 4. Puget Sound 181; 5. Cal State LA 221.
Individual Champion: Jessica Pixler, Seattle Pacific, 21:35.

* - Competed Unattached

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder