Adding To An Impressive List

Oct. 3, 2006

When senior men's golfer Niklas Lemke won the Illini Invitational last week, he became the 12th Sun Devil to win collegiate medalist honors under 15th-year head coach Randy Lein.

The dozen Sun Devils have won 30 outright collegegiate medalist honors since Lein took over in 1992-93. The list includes names such as current professionals Alejandro Canizares (six wins from 2003-2005) and Paul Casey (six wins from 1998-2000) along with 2000 U.S. Amateur champion Jeff Quinney (three wins from 1999-2001).

Here's a look at tournament winners under Randy Lein, who has led ASU to nine top-10 finishes at ASU, seven Pac-10 titles and one NCAA title (1996).

Niklas Lemke: 2006 Illini Invitational

Pat Moore: 2005 U.S. Intercollegiate

Alejandro Canizares: 2005 Puerto Rico Classic, 2005 Arizona/PING Intercollegiate, 2004 Big Ten/Pac-10 Challenge, 2004 ASU Thunderbird Invitational, 2003 NCAA Championship, 2003 National Invitational Tournament

Matt Jones: 2001 NCAA West Regional

Jeff Quinney: 2001 UNLV Rebel Classic, 1999 NCAA West Regional, 1999 ASU Thunderbird/SAVANE Invitational

Paul Casey: 2000 Pacific-10 Conference Championship, 2000 ASU Thunderbird/SAVANE Invitational, 1999 Pacific-10 Conference Championship, 1998 NCAA West Regional, 1998 Pacific-10 Conference Championship, 1998 USC/Cleveland Southwest Invitational

Greg Padilla: 1999 Topy Cup

Scott Johnson: 1997 Pacific-10 Conference Championship

Chris Hanell: 1997 Golf Digest Collegiate, 1995 Taylor Made/Big Island Intercollegiate

Brad Cannon: 1997 Oregon Invitational (lost playoff)

Darren Angel: 1995 Ping Preview

Todd Demsey: 1995 ASU Thunderbird Intercollegiate, 1994 U.S. Intercollegiate, 1994 Nike Southwestern Intercollegiate, 1993 NCAA Championship, 1993 Taylor Made/Big Island

Joey Snyder: 1995 Mauna Kea Collegiate Invitational (lost playoff)

Larry Barber: 1994 ASU Thunderbird Intercollegiate, 1994 Oregon Invitational

Chris Stutts: 1994 Pacific-10 Conference Championship (lost playoff), 1993 Ping/Arizona Intercollegiate (lost playoff)

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder