Rasmussen Advances to Third Round at Bronco Classic

Oct. 6, 2006

Chris Rasmussen won two singles matches and teamed with Dave Ryan in doubles to advance in the 2006 Bronco Classic at Santa Clara University. Rasmussen will play in the third round of the 'B' Flight division in singles and the second round of the 'A' Flight division in doubles. Eric McKean and Paul Morrissey each won their first round match, but were defeated in the second round.

Rasmussen began the day by beating Alex Daruty of Nevada, 6-2, 6-4, then came back later in the day to defeat Asaf Cohen of USF, 6-3, 6-2 in the second round. In doubles, he and teammate Dave Ryan won their first round match over Geoff Embry and Vladamir Pino of Oregon, 8-4.

In the 'A' Flight division in singles, McKean won his opening round match over Embry, 6-4, 6-3, but was beaten in the second round by Andy Kuharsky of Washington, 6-7 (3), 6-4, 6-1. Morrissey beat Roman Dojcak of Gonzaga, 5-7, 6-1, 6-3 in his opening round match, but then lost to Brian Brogan of Santa Clara, 6-4, 3-6, 6-1. Also competing in the 'A' Flight division was Kevin Kaiser, who lost his first round match, 6-3, 6-3, to Eric Rubens of UCSD.

Kaiser teamed with Jeff Zeller to win their opening round match of doubles competition, beating Geoff Embry and Vladamir Pino of Oregon, 8-4.

The tournament continues Saturday and Sunday.

2006 Bronco Classic
Santa Clara University
October 6, 2006

First Round
Eric McKean (S) d. Geoff Embry (Oregon), 6-4, 6-3
Paul Morrissey (S) d. Roman Dojcak (Gonzaga), 5-7, 6-1, 6-3
Chris Rasmussen (S) d. Alex Daruty (Nevada), 6-2, 6-4

Second Round
Andy Kuharsky (Wash) d. Eric McKean (S), 6-7 (3), 6-4, 6-1
Brian Brogan (Santa Clara) d. Paul Morrissey (S), 6-4, 3-6, 6-1
Eric Rubens (UCSD) d. Kevin Kaiser (S), 6-3, 6-3
Warrick Foy (Sac State) d. Jeff Zeller (S), 4-6, 6-2, 7-6 (10)
Chris Rasmussen (S) d. Asaf Cohen (USF), 6-3, 6-2
Michael Reiser (UC Davis) d. Dave Ryan (S), 3-6, 7-5, 6-1


First Round
Jeff Zeller/Kevin Kaiser (S) d. Steven Benvenuto/Bobby Rasmussen (Santa Clara), 8-6
Chris Rasmussen/Dave Ryan (S) d. Geoff Embry/Vladamir Pino (Oregon), 8-4

Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.