Husky Women's Golfers Host Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational

Oct. 8, 2006

Sammamish, Wash. - The Washington women's golf team plays host to the 25th annual Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational at the par-72, 6,130-yard Sahalee Country Club in Sammamish, Wash. from Oct. 9-11. The field for this year's tournament includes six teams currently ranked in Golfweek's top-30 poll.

The 15-team field for this year's event includes (Golfweek Ranking): Arizona (4), Arizona State (6), Brigham Young (22), California, Long Beach State, New Mexico (30), Oregon State, Oregon, Pepperdine, San Francisco, Stanford (13), UNLV, USC (19), Washington and Washington State.

Last year, Pepperdine overcame a six-shot lead by Arizona State to win its first Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational. Arizona State's Jennifer Osborn posted a final-round 73 to take medalist honors by two shots at 1-under 215. Eventual 2006 Pac-10 Champion Irene Cho fired a tournament-best 67 to finish runner-up at 1-over 217.

The Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational gets underway at 9 a.m. on Monday, using both the first and 10th tees. Tuesday's second round starts at 10 a.m., while the final round tees off at 8 a.m. on Wednesday. Live scoring of the event will be available at

The Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational is named for the founder of the Washington women's golf program. One of the Pacific Northwest's most honored golfers, Ihlanfeldt started the UW program in 1974. She never accepted payment for her work as the Huskies coach, instead donating her salary back to the program to fund scholarships.

The Huskies have never won the team title at the Ihlanfeldt Invitational, but two Washington players have turned in the best individual score. Nancy Kessler won the individual title in 1987 and Dodie Mazzuca, on the strength of a final-round score of 65, tied Stanford's Andrea Baxter for medalist honors in 1996.

Washington's lineup for this year's event includes senior Amber Prange, junior Kim Shin, senior Courtney McCracken, freshman Molly Aronsson and senior Amy Wang. Sophomore Molly Boyle and freshman Christina Yoon will compete as individuals.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder