Cougars Prepare For Annual Crimson and Gray World Series

Oct. 16, 2006

PULLMAN, Wash. - The Washington State baseball team will end its fall season this week with an intrasquad World Series beginning today at Bailey-Brayton Field. The Crimson team, coached by associate head coach Travis Jewett and volunteer assistant coach Matt Dorey, will face the Gray squad, led by Head Coach Donnie Marbut and assistant Coach Gregg Swenson, in three-game series starting Monday at 3 p.m. Admission to each game is free.

In last Friday's spring training game, a prelude to this week's world series, senior catcher Mike Gilbert hit a walk-off home run to lead the Gray team to victory.

The rotations have been set for the three-game series, with Seth Harvey and Garrett Kimbrel going in the opener for the Gray squad while Ryan Graves and Connor Lambert are scheduled to work for the Crimson team. Tuesday's matchup features Zach Miller and Michael Ratigan pitching for the Gray with Matt Crowe and Josh Williamson set to work for the Crimson. Wednesday's finale will see Adam Dentz and Steve Kost working for the Gray with Ross Humes and Jayson Miller pitching for the Crimson.

Complete lineups and game schedules for the Crimson and Gray World Series follow:

GAME SCHEDULE:Date	Game	TimeMon., Oct. 16	World Series Game One	3:00 p.m.Tue., Oct. 17	World Series Game Two	3:00 p.m.Wed., Oct. 18	World Series Game Three	3:00 p.m.

2006 COUGAR FALL WORLD SERIES ROSTERSPOSITION		CRIMSON			GRAYCatcher		Greg Lagreid		Mike Gilbert		Brian Rittereiser		Jay PoncianoFirst Base	Nick Hall, Bryan Yates	Jim Murphy, Scott SuttmeierSecond Base	Travis Coulter		Josh AshenbrennerShortstop		Paul Gran			Cody BartlettThird Base	Matt Thomas, Jeff Miller	Tyler Owens, Michael WeberOutfielders	Kyle Hinrichs		Ryan Krauser		Simi Reynolds		Matt Fanelli		Zach Borba 		Kenneth Bartz		Jared Prince		Andrew FinkUtility		Tyler McCallum		Scott SuttmeierPitchers		Ryan Graves (RHP)		Michael Ratigan (RHP)		Steve Kost (LHP)		Jayson Miller (LHP)		Adam Dentz (LHP)		Jeremy Johnson (RHP)		Connor Lambert (RHP)	Zach Miller (RHP)		Matt Way (LHP)		Ross Humes (LHP)		Matt Crowe (RHP)		Nick Ison (RHP)		Nick Cebula (RHP)		Carsten Bocchi (LHP)		Wayne Daman (RHP)		Garrett Kimbrel (LHP)		Kevin Kayner (RHP)		Seth Harvey (RHP)		Josh Williamson (RHP)Honorary Captains	Jeff Miller		Jay Ponciano
Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder