Rey Maualuga Named Semifinalist For Butkus Award

Oct. 19, 2006

USC sophomore linebacker Rey Maualuga has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the 2006 Butkus Award, presented annually by the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando to the nation's best collegiate linebacker.

Maualuga currently leads the undefeated Trojans in tackles with 36, including 3 for losses (with 1 sack). He also has an interception and 2 pass deflections.

USC's Chris Claiborne won the Butkus Award in 1998.

The other semifinalists are, alphabetically: H.B. Blades, Pitt; Buster Davis, Florida State; David Harris, Michigan; Ali Highsmith, LSU; James Laurinaitis, Ohio State; Sam Olajubutu, Arkansas; Paul Posluszny, Penn State; Brandon Siler, Florida; and Patrick Willis, Mississippi.

The 10 semifinalist will be cut down to three finalists on Nov. 9. The winner will be announced on Dec. 9 at the Butkus Award Gala in Orlando, FL.

The Butkus Award will be presented to the winner by the award's namesake, former Illinois and Chicago Bears NFL Hall of Famer Dick Butkus.

The independent Butkus Award Selection Committee for the 2006 Butkus Award, comprised of some of the nation's foremost journalists, is responsible for all voting in the selection process.

The Butkus Award is regarded as one of the most elite individual honors in college football. Past recipients include such outstanding linebackers as: Paul Posluszny (2005-Penn State); Derrick Johnson (2004-Texas) Teddy Lehman (2003-Oklahoma); E.J. Henderson (2002-Maryland); Rocky Calmus (2001-Oklahoma); Dan Morgan (2000-Miami); LaVar Arrington (1999-Penn State); Chris Claiborne (1998-USC); Andy Katzenmoyer (1997-Ohio State); Matt Russell (1996-Colorado); Kevin Hardy (1995-Illinois); Dana Howard (1994-Illinois); Trev Alberts (1993-Nebraska); Marvin Jones (1992-Florida State); Erick Anderson (1991-Michigan); Alfred Williams (1990-Colorado); Percy Snow (1989-Michigan State); Derrick Thomas (1988-Alabama); Paul McGowan (1997-Florida State) and Brian Bosworth (1985 and 1986-Oklahoma).

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder