Booty, Carroll Named Semifinalists For Maxwell and Munger Awards

Oct. 25, 2006

USC quarterback John David Booty and head coach Pete Carroll have been named among 15 semifinalists for the 2006 Maxwell Award and George Munger Award, respectively.

The Maxwell Football Club presents the Maxwell Award to the nation's top collegiate player and the Munger Award to the college coach of the year.

The Maxwell Award winner will be named on Dec. 7 and the Munger Award recipient in mid-December.

Booty has completed 131-of-207 passes (63.3%) for 1,357 yards and 13 touchdowns in his first year as USC's starting quarterback. He has thrown a TD pass in each of his 6 starts.

USC has had 3 winners of the Maxwell Award: tailbacks O.J. Simpson (1968), Charles White (1979) and Marcus Allen (1981).

Carroll, who at 60-10 (.857) is the nation's winningest active coach, won the Munger Award in 2003 and was a semifinalist in 2004 and 2005. In each of the past 4 seasons, he has guided USC to an AP Top 4 finish (including national championships in 2003 and 2004) and a BCS bowl appearance. His 2006 Trojans currently are 6-0 and ranked third by AP.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder