Jon Brockman is Wooden Award candidate

Oct. 25, 2006

LOS ANGELES - University of Washington sophomore Jon Brockman was named to the 50-player Preseason All-America Team announced Wednesday by the John R. Wooden Award Committee.

A national poll was conducted to choose the top 50 candidates who will be evaluated and considered for the mid-season top 30 list, the 10-man All-America Team and the Wooden Award that honors the nation's best player.

The list is composed of student athletes who, based on last year's individual performance and team records, are the early frontrunners for college basketball's most coveted trophy. These top 50 candidates are all returning players, although transfers, freshmen, medical redshirts and other players who excel throughout the season will be evaluated and considered for both the Midseason top 30 list and the final National Ballot. Players not on the preseason list are eligible for the midseason top 30 and ballot.

'With so many talented players across the country the committee had a tough time deciding on 50 candidates,' said Duke Llewellyn, Wooden Award chairman. 'These preseason selections represent the elite and our team at the Wooden Award is excited to see the best players in the nation prove their case as college basketball's player of the year.'

Brockman is the Washington's third candidate in as many years. Brandon Roy was a Wooden Award finalist last year and Nate Robinson was a nominated in 2005.

A 6-foot-7 forward, Brockman led the team and ranked seventh among Pac-10 players last season with an average of 6.5 rebounds per game while scoring at an 8.4-point clip. His 51.8-percent field goal accuracy was the second-highest figure in the conference.

Brockman is one of two returning starters from the 2006 UW team that registered a 26-7 record, made its third consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance and advanced to the Sweet 16 for the second straight season.

'It feels great any time your name is included with so many other great players,' exclaimed Brockman, who reveres the award's namesake, John Wooden. 'I got to meet him and get to know him through Coach (Lorenzo) Romar. He's a role model for everyone. He's definitely a huge role model for me.'

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation's best player at a university who has proven to his school that he is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a cumulative 2.0 grade point average. Previous winners include such notables as Michael Jordan (1984), Larry Bird (1979), Tim Duncan (1997) and last year's recipient, J.J. Redick (2006).

Brockman is one of seven Pac-10 players on the Wooden Award list, including Aaron Afflalo and Luc Richard Mbah a Moute from UCLA, Oregon's Malik Hairston, California's Ayinde Ubaka along with Arizona's Mustafa Shakur and Marcus Williams.

Along with those Pac-10 players, the Huskies will face three other Wooden Award nominees this season during non-conference play. Washington meets LSU and 6-9 forward Glen Davis on Dec. 22 at Bank of America Arena. Davis is the only preseason candidate who was honored last year as a member of the 2006 Wooden Award All-American Team.

The Huskies also play against Wooden Award candidates Aaron Gray of Pittsburgh and Rodney Stuckey of Eastern Washington.

Fifteen NCAA conferences are represented, including the ACC (8 players), the Big 12 (8 players), the Pac-10 (7 players), the Big East (7 players), the SEC (6 players), the Big 10 (4 players), the Mountain West (2 players), the Atlantic 10 (1 player), the Conf. USA (1 player), the Western Athletic (1 player), the Mid Continent (1 player), the Sun Belt (1 player), the Horizon League (1 player), the Colonial Athletic Association (1 player), and the Big Sky (1 player).

In January, the Wooden Award committee will release the midseason top 30 followed by the national ballot in early March. On Tuesday, March 27, the 10-player Wooden Award All-American Team will be announced. The 2007 Award ceremony, which will include the presentation of the Men's and Women's Wooden Award, the Wooden Award All-American Teams, and the Legends of Coaching Award to recipient Gene Keady of Purdue University, will be held at The Los Angeles Athletic Club on April 7, 2007. The top five male and female finalists will be invited to Los Angeles for the awards ceremony and will receive a contribution from The Los Angeles Athletic Club for their university's general scholarship fund.

About the John R. Wooden Award
Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation's best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a cumulative 2.0 GPA. Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird ('79), Michael Jordan ('84), Tim Duncan ('97), Andrew Bogut ('05), and last year's recipient, J.J. Redick.

Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed close to a million dollars to universities' general scholarship fund in the names of the All-American recipients as well as sent over 1,000 underprivileged children to week-long college basketball camps in the awards name. Additionally, the John R. Wooden Award partners with Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) each year to host the Wooden Award Special Olympics Southern California Basketball Tournament. The day-long tournament, which brings together Special Olympic athletes and the All-American selections, takes place at The Los Angeles Athletic Club on the Friday prior to the John R. Wooden Award Ceremony.

For more information on the John R. Wooden Award, please visit


First Last Hgt. Year Pos. School
Afflalo Arron 6-5 Jr. G UCLA
Alexander De'Angelo 6-6 Sr. G Charlotte
Almond Morris 6-6 Sr. G Rice
Brewer Corey 6-9 Jr. F Florida
Brockman Jon 6-7 So. G Washington
Butler Jamar 6-2 Jr. G Ohio State
Collins Coleman 6-9 Sr. F Virginia Tech
Curry JamesOn 6-3 Jr. G Oklahoma State
Davidson Jermareo 6-10 Sr. F Alabama
Davis Glen 6-9 Jr. F LSU
Dudley Jared 6-7 Sr. F Boston College
Fazekas Nick 6-11 Sr. F Nevada
Gray Aaron 7-0 Sr. C Pittsburgh
Green Caleb 6-8 Sr. F Oral Roberts
Green Jeff 6-9 Jr. F Georgetown
Hairston Malik 6-6 Jr. G Oregon
Haluska Adam 6-5 Sr. G Iowa
Hamilton Lamont 6-10 Jr. F St. John's
Hansbrough Tyler 6-9 So. F North Carolina
Heath Brandon 6-4 Sr. G San Diego State
Hibbert Roy 7-2 Jr. C Georgetown
Horford Al 6-10 Jr. F/C Florida
Jackson Jarrius 6-2 Sr. G Texas Tech
James Dominic 5-11 So. G Marquette
Jones Joseph 6-9 Jr. F/C Texas A&M
Law Acie 6-3 Sr. G Texas A&M
Lee Courtney 6-5 Jr. F Western Kentucky
Lofton Chris 6-2 Jr. G Tennessee
Mbah a Moute Luc Richard 6-7 So. F UCLA
McRoberts Josh 6-10 So. F Duke
Mejia Sammy 6-6 Sr. G DePaul
Noah Joakim 6-11 Jr. F/C Florida
Padgett David 6-11 Jr. F/C Louisville
Randle Brian 6-8 Jr. F Illinois
Roby Richard 6-6 Jr. G Colorado
Rush Brandon 6-6 So. G Kansas
Schilb Blake 6-7 Sr. G Loyola (Chicago)
Shakur Mustafa 6-3 Sr. G Arizona
Singletary Sean 6-0 Jr. G Virginia
Smith Jason 7-0 Jr. F Colorado State
Steele Ronald 6-3 Jr. G Alabama
Stokes Loren 6-3 Sr. G Hofstra
Stuckey Rodney 6-5 So. G Eastern Washington
Taylor Kammron 6-2 Sr. G Wisconsin
Terry Reyshawn 6-8 Sr. F North Carolina
Thornton Al 6-8 Sr. F Florida State
Tucker Alando 6-6 Sr. F Wisconsin
Ubaka Ayinde 6-4 Sr. G California
Williams Marcus 6-7 So. F Arizona
Wright Julian 6-8 So. F Kansas
Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder