Seven pac-10 Men's Basketball Players Named To Wooden Award Preseason Top 50 List

Oct. 27, 2006

Complete List of the 2006-07 Wooden Award Preseason All-American Team - Top 50
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- Seven men's basketball players from various Pac-10 institutions were named to the 2006-07 John R. Wooden Award Preseason All-America team, as announced Wednesday by the award's national preseason selection committee.

A national poll was conducted to choose the top 50 candidates who will be evaluated and considered for the mid-season top 30 list, the 10-man All-America Team and the Wooden Award that honors the nation's best player.

The list is comprised of student-athletes who, based on last year's individual performance and team records, are the early frontrunners for college basketball's most coveted trophy. These top 50 candidates are all returning players, although transfers, freshman, medical redshirts and other players who excel throughout the season will be evaluated and considered for both the mid-season top 30 list and the final national ballot. Players not on the preseason list are eligible for the midseason top 30 and ballot.

Those from the Pac-10 that have been named to the Wooden Award list include Arron Afflalo and Luc Richard Mbah a Moute from UCLA, Mustafa Shakur and Marcus Williams from Arizona, Washington's Jon Brockman, Oregon's Malik Hairston, and California's Ayinde Ubaka.

Fifteen NCAA conferences were represented, including the ACC (8 players), Big 12 (8 players), Pac-10 (7 players), Big East (7 players), SEC (6 players), Big Ten (4 players), Mountain West (2 players), Atlantic 10 (1 player), Conference USA (1 player), Western Athletic (1 player), Mid Continent (1 player), Sun Belt (1 player), Horizon League (1 player), Colonial Athletic Association (1 player), and Big Sky (1 player).

In mid-January, the Wooden Award committee will release the midseason top 30 followed by the national ballot in early March. The 10-player John R. Wooden Award All-America team will be announced on Tuesday, March 27.

The 2007 Award ceremony, which will include the presentation of the Men's and Women's Wooden Award, the Wooden Award All-American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award to recipient Gene Keady of Purdue University, will be held at The Los Angeles Athletic Club on April 7, 2007 and will be broadcast live on CBS. The top five male and female finalists will be invited to Los Angeles for the awards ceremony and will receive a contribution from The Los Angeles Athletic Club for their university's general scholarship fund.

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is one of the most prestigious honors in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation's best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his university that he is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a cumulative 2.0 GPA. Previous winners include such notables as Larry bird (1979), Michael Jordan (1984), Tim Duncan (1997), Andrew Bogut (2005), and last year's recipient, J.J. Redick.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network