Noelle Quinn Named A Pre-Season Candidate For Wooden Award

Nov. 2, 2006

For the third consecutive year, UCLA senior guard Noelle Quinn (Los Angeles, Calif./Bishop Montgomery HS) has been selected as one of the 30 preseason candidates for the Women's Wooden Award, which is named after legendary UCLA basketball coach John Wooden. The list is composed of 30 student-athletes who, based on last year's individual performance and team records, are the early frontrunners for college basketball's most coveted trophy.

Quinn, who is also on the pre-season Watch List for the Wade Trophy, was an AP and WBCA/Kodak honorable mention All-American a year ago after averaging a team-best and career-high 18.1 points and 8.2 rebounds per game. During the last 16 games of the season, she averaged 20.5 points and 8.9 rebounds while shooting 53.2% from the field. She finished the year ranked third in the Pac-10 in scoring, second in rebounding and fourth in assists (3.84) and earned first-team All-Pac-10 honors for the second time in her career. The 2004 Pac-10 Freshman of the Year has earned Pac-10 Player of the Week honors a Pac-10 record-tying eight times in her career. Quinn was also a first-team CoSIDA Academic All-District first-team honoree in 2005-06 and was a two-time Pac-10 All-Academic selection. For her career, she averages 17.1 points, 7.8 rebounds, 3.5 assists and 2.1 steals per game.

In mid-January, the Wooden Award Committee will release the Midseason Top 20 list, followed in March by the official voting ballot, consisting of approximately 15 top players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining a cumulative 2.0 GPA. The 2007 Award ceremony, which will include the presentation of the Men's and Women's Wooden Award, the Wooden Award All-American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award to Purdue's Gene Keady, will be held at The Los Angeles Athletic Club on April 7, 2007. The top five male and female finalists will be invited to Los Angeles for the Awards ceremony and will receive a contribution from The Los Angeles Athletic Club in their name to their university's general scholarship fund.

UCLA's Arron Afflalo and Luc Richard Mbah a Moute are on the pre-season Top 50 list for the men.

2006-07 Women's Nominees
Matee Ajavon, Rutgers
Morenike Atunrase, Texas A&M
Alison Bales, Duke
Marissa Coleman, Maryland
Jessica Davenport, Ohio State
Dee Davis, Vanderbilt
Jessica Dickson, South Florida
Shay Doron, Maryland
Sylvia Fowles, LSU
Lindsey Harding, Duke
Cameo Hicks, Washington
Alexis Hornbuckle, Tennessee
Charde Houston, Connecticut
Tasha Humphrey, Georgia
Tye Jackson, Houston
Crystal Kelly, Western Kentucky
Crystal Langhorne, Maryland
Erlana Larkins, North Carolina
Ivory Latta, North Carolina
Camille Little, North Carolina
Lyndsey Medders, Iowa State
Shay Murphy, USC
Courtney Paris, Oklahoma
Candace Parker, Tennessee
Armintie Price, Mississippi
Noelle Quinn, UCLA
Jillian Robbins, Tulsa
Tiffany Jackson, Texas
Kia Vaughn, Rutgers
Candice Wiggins, Stanford

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder