Douglas One Of 10 Ray Guy Award Semi-Finalists

Nov. 3, 2006

AUGUSTA, Ga. - Washington senior punter Sean Douglas was named one of 10 semi-finalists for the Ray Guy Award, The Greater Augusta Sports Council announced. Douglas, from Bellevue, Neb., is currently the UW's all-time leading punter in career average at 43.2 yards per punt. His 44.5-yard average this season ranks second in the Pac-10 and 11th in the nation.

This year, 47 punters were nominated for the Ray Guy Award. Each of the punters on the list was evaluated on his overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis was placed on the following categories: net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line, average return yardage, and percentage not returned.

The award is named for Thomson, Georgia, resident Ray Guy, a 2004 College Football Hall of Fame Inductee and perennial candidate for the National Football League Hall of Fame. If inducted, Guy would be the first punter ever named to the Hall of Fame. Guy, who played with the Oakland Raiders from 1973 to 1986, is, perhaps, the first punter who could change the make-up of a game with his ability. It is said 'hang-time' was added to football vernacular because of Ray Guy, who was known for his soaring kicks and deadly precision. This namesake award, created by the Greater Augusta Sports Council, was begun in 2000. Mr. Guy said about this year's candidates, 'It is obvious this outstanding group of punters have focused on team success instead of individual accomplishments. Everyone on our top-ten list have performed unselfishly, qualifying each to be worthy of being named the nation's top punter.'

A national voting body of Division 1-A coaches and sports information directors, national media, and former punters will decide the three award finalists, and ultimately the winner of this year's award. The winner will be announced live on ESPN during the Home Depot College Football Awards show, Thursday, December 7, 2006. The winner will again be honored at the Greater Augusta Sports Award Gala in early 2007.

2006 Ray Guy Award Semi-Finalist

Name, School, ClassDurant Brooks, Georgia Tech, JuniorRyan Dougherty, East Carolina, SeniorSean Douglas, Washington, SeniorBrandon Fields, Michigan State, SeniorZach Johnson, Eastern Michigan, FreshmanJeremy Kapinos, Penn State, SeniorGeoff Price, Notre Dame, JuniorLouie Sakoda, Utah, SophomoreDaniel Sepulveda, Baylor, SeniorSam Swank, Wake Forest, Sophomore

Most of the above information from a press release from the Ray Guy Award.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network